IS&T 2016 Honors and Awards Recipients Announced

Share Article

The Society for Imaging Science and Technology (IS&T) presents 2016 Honors and Awards to individuals who have made significant advancements in imaging science and technology.

News Image

The Society for Imaging Science and Technology (IS&T) is pleased to announce the following individuals selected for 2016 Honors and Awards. Each recipient, by their exemplary contributions, has made unique and noteworthy advancements to the field of imaging science and technology.

Honorary Membership
Honorary Membership—the Society’s highest honor—is awarded to Michael Kriss (MAK Consultants) “for outstanding research and engineering in both silver halide and digital photography, active participation in IS&T meetings, and leadership as first editor of the IS&T Wiley book series.”

Chester F. Carlson Award
Sponsored by the Xerox Corporation Wilson Center for Research and Technology, the Chester F. Carlson Award was established to recognize outstanding work in the science or technology of electrophotography. The 2016 award goes to Mark Enzien (Xerox Corporation) “in recognition of work as system architect and developer of workflows and control schemes for digital printing presses.”

Gutenberg Award
Sponsored by Hewlett-Packard Company, the Gutenberg Award is given for an outstanding technical achievement in, or contribution to, printing technology. This year’s award goes to Werner Zapka (Xaar) “for leadership in the printing community and leadership in surface manufacturing.”

The Edwin H. Land Medal
Given in cooperation with The Optical Society (OSA) for pioneering work empowered by scientific research to create inventions, technologies, and products, the 2016 award is given to Jan P. Allebach (Purdue University) “for diverse contributions in development of widely used commercial halftoning algorithms for digital printing, digital image processing and color management, and also for leadership as an educator and researcher in the field of electronic imaging.”

Image Engineering Innovation Award
Sponsored by Image Engineering GmbH, the Image Engineering Innovation Award highlights efforts that lead to quality improvements or major positive changes in handling digital cameras and images. The 2016 award is given to Andreas Velten (University of Wisconsin) “for the development of a time-of-flight, ultra-fast photography system.”

IS&T Fellowship
In recognition of outstanding achievement in imaging science or engineering, the following members of the Society will be elevated to Fellow status:

  • Teruaki Mitsuya (Ricoh Company, Ltd.) “for outstanding achievement in imaging engineering of electrophotographic fusing technology and Analysis Lead Design (ALD) systems.”
  • Makoto Omodani (Tokai University) “for outstanding achievement in imaging engineering, ion flow printing, and electronic paper printing.”
  • Thrasyvoulos N. Pappas (Northwestern University.) “for outstanding achievement in imaging engineering in model‐based halftoning, image analysis, and compression.”

Senior Membership
For long-term service to the Society at the national level, Senior Membership is awarded to Gaurav Sharma (University of Rochester) “for serving as Co-Chair and Symposium Chair of the Electronic Imaging Symposium (2012 and 2013) and Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Electronic Imaging (2011-2015).”

Service Award
Recognizing service to a Chapter or to the Society, 2016 Service Awards are given this year to

  • Margaret Dolinsky (Indiana University) for serving as a Conference Chair for the Electronic Imaging Symposium’s The Engineering Reality of Virtual Reality Conference since 2008.
  • Vien Cheung (University of Leeds) for her many roles in organizing IS&T color conferences for more than a dozen years.
  • Huib de Ridder (Technische Universiteit Delft) for contribution to the Electronic Imaging Symposium over many decades.
  • James Gotta (Xerox Corporation) for service on the Rochester Chapter Council for almost 20 years as councilor, treasurer, and president.
  • Sophie Triantaphillidou (University of Westminster) for serving as a Conference Chair for the Electronic Imaging Symposium’s Image Quality and System Performance Conference from 2013-2015.
  • Philipp Urban (Fraunhofer Institute for Computer Graphics Research IGD) for helping establish and foster the new Electronic Imaging conference: Measuring, Modeling, and Reproducing Material Appearance.

Other awards presented by IS&T this year are:

  • The Raymond C. Bowman Award for excellence in imaging education, presented to C.-C. Jay Kuo (The University of Southern California) “in recognition of his work in education in the field of signal, image, and video processing for the last three decades, with an enduring impact on both the academic and industry realms.”
  • The Charles E. Ives/Journal Award in recognition of the best engineering paper published in an IS&T journal the preceding year to Maria Cristina Rodriguez-Rivera (University of Cambridge), José Rafael Castrejón-Pita (Queen Mary University of London), and Ian M. Hutchings (University of Cambridge) for “Aerodynamic Effects in Industrial Inkjet Printing,” which appeared in the Journal of Imaging Science and Technology, vol. 59, #4, 040401-1—040401-10 (2015).
  • The Itek Award in recognition of the best student publication in an IS&T journal the preceding year to Neda Milić (Faculty of Technical Sciences), Miklós Hoffmann (Eszterházy Károly College), Tibor Tómács (Eszterházy Károly College), Dragoljub Novakovic (Faculty of Technical Sciences), and Branko Milosavljević (Faculty of Technical Sciences) for “A Content-Dependent Naturalness-Preserving Daltonization Method for Dichromatic and Anomalous Trichromatic Color Vision Deficiencies,” which appeared in the Journal of Imaging Science and Technology, vol. 59 #1 010504-1 – 010504-10 (2015).
  • The Raymond Davis Scholarship, given to an advanced-level undergraduate or a graduate student with an academic and/or research focus in a field related to imaging, to Antonio Fiore (University of Maryland) for his interest in biomedical optics.

About the Society for Imaging Science and Technology (IS&T)
The Society for Imaging Science and Technology (IS&T) is an international professional non-profit dedicated to keeping members and other imaging professionals apprised of the latest developments in the field through conferences, educational programs, publications, and its website. IS&T programs encompass all aspects of the imaging workflow, which moves from capture (sensors, cameras) through image processing (image quality, color, and materialization) to hard and soft copy output (printing, displays, image permanence), and includes aspects related to human vision, such as image quality and color. The Society also focuses on a wide range of image-related applications, including security, virtual reality, machine vision, and data analysis.

Nominations for the 2017 awards are currently being accepted at Nominations deadline: October 1, 2016.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Jennifer Henderson
Follow >
Visit website