James Scott Farrin Attorneys and Paralegal Recognized as “Exceptional Professionals” for NCAJ Work

Share Article

Two James Scott Farrin attorneys and a paralegal with the Durham-based law firm, recently received recognition and awards at the 2016 North Carolina Advocates for Justice (NCAJ) convention for their service to the legal community.

James Scott Farrin attorneys Crystal Rouse and Mike Rothrock, and paralegal Linda Ethredge, were recognized at the 2016 North Carolina Advocates for Justice (NCAJ) convention for their continued community service helping NCAJ protect people’s rights.

NCAJ CEO Dick Taylor said, “NCAJ has long appreciated the volunteer hours attorneys and paralegals at James Scott Farrin put in to support NCAJ in its mission to protect the rights of all North Carolinians and there’s no exception with Crystal Rouse, Mike Rothrock, and Linda Ethredge. They are exceptional professionals who do a lot to support the professional development of their peers across the state; we thank them for their service.”

Rouse received the Order of Service award, which a James Scott Farrin attorney has received every year since the award’s inception. The award recognizes NCAJ members who have served a minimum of two areas within this community service organization. Rouse serves in several areas, including the Board of Governors and Continuing Legal Education (CLE), where she was recently elected as co-chair of the New Lawyers Division. In August she was appointed to the 2016-2017 NCAJ Education Committee and is the coordinating editor for NCAJ’s October 2016 Trial Briefs. Rouse is immediate past chair of NCAJ’s Disability Advocacy Section, and previously served on the NCAJ Membership Committee, Board of Governors, and Executive Committee as officer on the Nominations Committee.

Mike Rothrock received NCAJ’s Ebbie award, which recognizes members who are committed to serving NCAJ and its mission to protect people’s rights, and have given generously of their time and talent to the organization. He was elected to chair the New Lawyers Division of NCAJ, where he will help work on projects designed to give new lawyers a greater advantage and more practical resources in the legal field. Rothrock has been serving the NCAJ for more than eight years in various capacities, including the Young Lawyers Division Executive Board, New Lawyers Division vice chair, Education Committee, Publications/Communications Committee, Legislative Committee, Nominating Committee, and was co-chair of the Professionalism for New Attorneys program.

Linda Ethredge was recognized at the NCAJ paralegal conference for achieving “Advocate” status and was elected chair of the organization’s paralegal division. Previously vice chair, Ethredge has been serving the NCAJ for over six years.

The Law Offices of James Scott Farrin is headquartered in the American Tobacco Historic District, adjacent to the Durham Bulls Athletic Park, in Durham, North Carolina, with 13 additional offices statewide in Charlotte, Fayetteville, Greensboro, Greenville, Goldsboro, Henderson, New Bern, Raleigh, Roanoke Rapids, Rocky Mount, Sanford, Wilson, and Winston-Salem. The firm’s 37 attorneys focus on the following practice areas: Personal Injury, Workers’ Compensation, Social Security Disability, Eminent Domain, Intellectual Property, Civil Rights, Mass Torts, and Products Liability. Six of the attorneys are North Carolina Board Certified Specialists in Workers’ Compensation Law and one is a North Carolina Board Certified Specialist in Social Security Disability Law. The Law Offices of James Scott Farrin is involved in the community, including sponsorship of local philanthropic organizations.

Contact Information:
David Chamberlin
280 S. Mangum Street, Suite 400
Durham, NC 27701

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

David Chamberlin
since: 08/2009
Follow >
Follow us on
Visit website