Charlie Sheen to Honor Stuntman Eddie Braun with Action Icon Spirit Award and Present Exclusive Footage of Braun’s Tribute of Evel Knievel's Snake River Canyon Jump

Share Article

9th Annual Action Icon Awards Honoring Action-Oriented Actresses, Stuntwomen and Extreme Sports Stars Sunday, October 16 in Los Angeles at the Sheraton Universal Hotel

The Ninth Annual Action Icon Awards celebrates risk-taking stuntwomen, along with action-oriented actresses and extreme sports stars. These pioneering women and living legends will be recognized in over 12 categories during the two-hour private red-carpet awards luncheon. Top honorees include the Diamond in the Raw Award – Alana Mayo, Vice President of Production, Paramount Pictures; Limbless, world class aerialist Jen Bricker, our Dare2BDifferent Award honoree, an award previously given to Paralympic Snowboarder Amy Purdy and Gold Medalists Gabby Douglass and Laila Ali. Melissa Stubbs will receive the HELEN GIBSON Award – which pays homage to a veteran stuntwoman with over 30 years of industry experience. Other deserving individuals will be honored in other categories including JEWEL, GEM, Dynamic Duo and the coveted Stuntwoman of the Year, with a Special Achievement nod to groundbreaking Emmy nominated stuntwoman/stunt coordinator, Julie Michaels. Mixed Chicks, Wendi Levy and Kym Etheredge will receive the Philanthropy award. Charlie Sheen will present a very special Action Icon Spirit Award to his longtime stunt double Eddie Braun for his daring and successful leap over Snake Canyon River – a fete Evel Knieval failed more than 40 years ago. Never seen before footage of Eddie Braun’s famously successful jump over Snake Canyon River will be presented exclusively.

As previously announced, Nina Parker, Live Contributor on Access Hollywood will be the host and presenters include Jessie Graff, Mark Wagner, Thomas Hobson, Tammy Townsend, Gwendolyn Smith, Alexandra Grey, Jim Vickers, Keir Beck, Jaylen Moore, Dennis Madeline, Patrick Faucet, Brionna Lynch, Chad Guerrero, Crystal Santos, Crystal Michelle and others.

The media is also invited to learn how to get set on fire, wield weapons, fight and fall from the sky during the Stuntwomen’s Coordinating Conference from 8:30 am – 4 pm on Friday, October 14 at Showbiz Studios Stage 10, 15521 Lanark Street, Van Nuys, CA 91406.

Founded in 2007, the Action Icon Awards is lauded as Hollywood’s preeminent awards show honoring the many unsung heroines of the motion picture and television industries. In previous years, awards have been given to Patricia Arquette, Maggie Q., Gabby Douglass, Linda Hamilton, Jamie Lee Curtis, Lindsay Wagner, Pam Grier, Kelly Hu, Vivica A. Fox, Daniela Rauh, Nancy Lieberman, Laila Ali, Lisa Leslie, Gale Ann Hurd, Holly Robinson-Peete and Angela Bassett, Donna Evans, Shauna Duggins, Heidi Moneymaker, Boni Yanagisawa, Alicia Vela-Bailey, Dartenea Bryant, Dorenda Moore, Ming Qiu, Lisa Hoyle, and Jennifer Badger.

The Action Icon Awards are being sponsored in partnership with SAG/AFTRA, Marika, Inc, the McGrath Abrams Family Foundation, US Bank, Stone Cold Action Productions and Mixed Chicks and produced by Diamond in the Raw, Snap Productions, Stone Cold Action Productions and Envy Public Relations. Guests will take part in a silent auction, one-of-a-kind opportunity to meet and greet with top Hollywood Stunt Coordinators, and experience live-artist performances by Deja, a 17-year old musical prodigy and former contestant on NBC’s “The Voice,” Marie Antionette, an accomplished harpist, and Rhythmic Gymnastics.

For information about the event, sponsorship opportunities and tickets, please visit or call (800) 566.4714, ext. 84. For talent, media and press interviews, please contact LaTanya Marble, Envy Public Relations (818) 795- 3735 or envypublicrelations(at)gmail(dot)com.

FB: /actioniconawards
Twitter: @actioniconaward

About Diamond in the Raw Foundation
The Diamond in the Raw Foundation is a 501 © (3) non-profit organization dedicated to empowering and transforming the lives of foster care and at-risk teen girls between the ages of 12-18 through (S.T.E.A.M) sciences, technology, engineering, arts and math.

About the Action Icon Awards
The Diamond in the Raw Foundation produces the Action Icon Awards annually to salute Hollywood professional stuntwomen and action-oriented actresses in film and television.

Action Icon Spirit Award: Eddie Braun
Diamond in the Raw: Alana Mayo
Dare2bdifferent: Jen Bricker
Special Achievement/Crystal Award: Julie Michaels
Helen Gibson Award: Melissa Stubbs
Stuntwoman of the Year Finalists: Shauna Duggins, Natalie Padilla, Peipei Yuan, Kristina Baskett
Dynamic Duo: Kristina Baskett (Maise Williams), Jwaundance Candece (Viola Davis), Alyma Dorsey (Leslie Jones)                
Jewel: Kristina Baskett, Jessie Graff, Whitney Coleman
Gem: Brett Jones, Mark Norby, Darrin Prescott, Thom Williams
Philanthropist of the Year: Mixed Chicks; Wendi Levy and Kym Etheredge
Thrill of Victory: To Be Revealed

LaTanya Marble
Envy PR
envypublicrelations(at)gmail(dot)com | 818.795-3735

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

LaTanya Marble
since: 07/2011
Follow >
Visit website