NETA TRAINING Courses Help Electrical Power Professionals Earn Continuing Education Credits in Time to Meet Year-End Requirements

Share Article

NETA’s Self-Paced Technical Seminars and ANSI/NETA Acceptance Testing Courses provide opportunities for CTDs, technical development, credentials, and continuing educational needs.

the InterNational Electrical Testing Association offers an extensive selection of online training to help electrical power professionals not only continue their learning, but also meet the requirements for NETA certifications and other electrical industry certifications and credentials.

A commitment to continuing educational requirements is important because it helps ensure that electrical power industry professionals perform at their best throughout their careers. NETA’s learning opportunities appeal to NETA Certified Technicians as well as electrical power systems professionals at large because the training focuses on the core competencies of quality, safety, and reliability.

NETA requires the continuing education of its Level III and Level IV Certified Technicians, who are responsible for testing in accordance with ANSI/NETA standards. Each technician is required to earn 48 continuing technical development (CTD) credits by December 31, every three years, to maintain certification. This continuing education requirement helps assure that NETA Certified Technicians stay current with emerging technologies, new editions of industry standards, and best practices.

Taking NETA Self-Paced Technical Seminars (SPTS) is a convenient way for technicians to earn these CTD credits. Technicians with certification numbers beginning with 00 and prior, as well as 01, 04, 07, 10, and 13, must earn 48 CTDs by December 31, 2016, to maintain their certification.

In addition, the benefit of NETA training courses extends beyond the NETA Certified Technician because electrical power systems professionals who complete a NETA online course successfully can submit their results for continuing education credits for other electrical-related certifications or credentials needed to satisfy their profession’s requirements.

Participants can access SPTS courses online at their convenience and complete them at their own pace. Each four-hour seminar includes a seminar DVD, a printed copy of the presentation, and one attempt at the course proficiency exam.

The following is a list of SPTS training courses available in the NETA Bookstore. Each offers the potential for electrical power industry professionals to earn four hours of training (four NETA CTD credits for NETA Certified Technicians) or four hours of continuing educational credits:

  • Risk Assessment Techniques Using NFPA 70E: A Primer
  • Maintenance and Testing of Battery Systems
  • Power Transformer Testing and Maintenance
  • Critical Maintenance for Circuit Breakers
  • Electrical Testing Basics: What You Need to Know to Succeed — Part 2
  • A Primer on MCC Maintenance and Testing
  • Primer on Transformer Diagnostics
  • Transformer Condition Assessment and Diagnostic Fault Analysis Using Liquid Insulation Testing
  • Partial Discharge Activity on Medium-Voltage Switchgear and Cables
  • Hazards of Electricity, Shock, Arc, and Blast: An Educational Journey Through Case Studies
  • How Do They Do It? Electrical Power Measurement Methods, Practices, and Standards
  • The Practical Application of NFPA 70E in Routine Work Tasks
  • Condition of Maintenance: A Practical Approach to Compliance within the Industry
  • Electrical Testing Medium-Voltage Stator Windings
  • Acceptance and Maintenance Testing for Medium-Voltage Electrical Power Cables: Exploring Technology Developments Over the Past 20 Years

Electrical power systems professionals can also take advantage of ANSI/NETA Acceptance Testing Online Courses to advance their development and earn educational credits. Developed by the NETA Training Committee and approved by the NETA Standards Review Council, these training courses cover specific sections of ANSI/NETA, Standard for Acceptance Testing Specifications for Electrical Power Equipment and Systems (ANSI/NETA-ATS).

The following is a list of ANSI/NETA Acceptance Testing Training Courses available for order. Each course contains interactive elements designed to keep the technician engaged in the learning process as well as to give instant feedback on whether the information is being learned correctly:

  • ANSI/NETA ATS 2013 Grounding Systems Acceptance Testing
  • ANSI/NETA ATS 2013 Instrument Transformer Acceptance Testing
  • ANSI/NETA ATS 2013 Cable Systems Acceptance Testing

Please contact the NETA office at 888-300-6382 with questions regarding training or the CTD program.

NETA is an ANSI Accredited Standards Developing Organization that creates and maintains standards on electrical testing for electrical power equipment and systems. NETA is an association of leading electrical testing companies comprised of visionaries committed to advancing the industry standards for power system installation and maintenance to ensure the highest level of reliability and safety.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Jill Howell, Market Development Director
Follow >
NETA - InterNational Electrical Testing Association
Like >
NETA - InterNational Electrical Testing Association

Visit website