ACM Recognizes Distinguished Members for Computing Innovations That Transform Society

Share Article

2016 members selected for individual achievements that expand scientific frontiers and advance the digital age.

News Image
Our global roster of 2016 Distinguished Members reminds us that excellence in our field knows no borders.

ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, has named 45 Distinguished Members for their individual contributions to the field of computing. Their achievements have advanced the science, engineering and education of computing, and highlight the growing role of computing in the major technological advances shaping society today.

“The contributions of our Distinguished Members lead to breakthroughs that improve our lives, advance the frontiers of scientific discovery, and boost economic development,” explains ACM President Vicki L. Hanson. “Our global roster of 2016 Distinguished Members reminds us that excellence in our field knows no borders. For all our new Distinguished Members, we celebrate their dedication to computing, their creativity, and their exemplary professional accomplishments.”

The 2016 ACM Distinguished Members work at leading universities, corporations and research institutions around the world, including Austria, Brazil, Canada, China, Hong Kong, India, Italy, Korea, Japan, the Netherlands, Singapore, Spain, the United Kingdom, and the United States. These trailblazers have made contributions in a wide range of technical areas including computer science education, data privacy, security, computer networking, machine learning, distributed systems, multimedia computing, human-computer interaction, programming languages, mobile and wireless networks, database management, information retrieval, computational biology, molecular computing, and software engineering, among others.

The ACM Distinguished Member program recognizes up to 10 percent of ACM worldwide membership based on professional experience as well as significant achievements in the computing field. For more information about selection criteria and the 2016 Distinguished Members, visit

2016 ACM Distinguished Members
Distinguished Educators:

Michael Clancy
University of California, Berkeley

Amruth N. Kumar
Ramapo College of New Jersey

Michelle Craig
University of Toronto

K.R. Venugopal
University Visvesvaraya College of Engineering (UVCE)/Bangalore University

Distinguished Engineers:

David Carmel
Yahoo Research

Matthew L. Cooper
FX Palo Alto Laboratory

Rudra Dutta
North Carolina State University

Hubertus Franke
IBM T.J. Watson Research Center

Emden R. Gansner

Tie-Yan Liu
Microsoft Research Asia

Heiko Ludwig
IBM Research

Jacquelyn Martino

David Ayman Shamma
Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica

Distinguished Scientists:

Joanne M. Atlee
University of Waterloo

Sonia Bergamaschi
University of Modena and Reggio Emilia

Raheem A. Beyah
Georgia Institute of Technology

Tevfik Bultan
University of California, Santa Barbara

Shigang Chen
University of Florida

Otfried Cheong
Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST)

Shing-Chi Cheung
Hong Kong University of Science & Technology

Alberto del Bimbo
University of Florence

Josep Domingo-Ferrer
Universitat Rovira i Virgili

Sebastian Elbaum
University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Geraldine Fitzpatrick
TU Wien

Zhenjiang Hu
National Institute of Informatics

Gang Hua
Microsoft Research

Pan Hui
Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Katherine Isbister
University of California, Santa Cruz

Murat Kantarcioglu
University of Texas at Dallas

Fabio Kon
University of São Paulo

Laks V.S. Lakshmanan
University of British Columbia

Stefano Lonardi
University of California, Riverside

Sanjay Madria
Missouri University of Science and Technology

Tao Mei
Microsoft Research Asia

Suman Nath
Microsoft Research

George Necula
University of California, Berkeley

Chong-Wah Ngo
City University of Hong Kong

Corina Pasareanu
Carnegie Mellon Silicon Valley and
NASA Ames Research Center

Marian Petre
The Open University

Weisong Shi
Wayne State University

Prasun Sinha
Ohio State University

Darko Stefanovic
University of New Mexico

Yufei Tao
Chinese University of Hong Kong

Shuicheng Yan
Qihoo/360 and
National University of Singapore

Yu Zheng
Microsoft Research/
Shanghai Jiao Tong University

About ACM
ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, is the world’s largest educational and scientific computing society, uniting computing educators, researchers and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources and address the field’s challenges. ACM strengthens the computing profession’s collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence. ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life-long learning, career development, and professional networking.

About the ACM Recognition Program
The ACM Fellows program, initiated in 1993, celebrates the exceptional contributions of the leading members in the computing field. These individuals have helped to enlighten researchers, developers, practitioners and end users of information technology throughout the world. The ACM Distinguished Member program, initiated in 2006, recognizes those members with at least 15 years of professional experience who have made significant accomplishments or achieved a significant impact on the computing field. The ACM Senior Member program, also initiated in 2006, includes members with at least 10 years of professional experience who have demonstrated performance that sets them apart from their peers through technical leadership, technical contributions and professional contributions. The new ACM Fellows, Distinguished Members, and Senior Members join a list of eminent colleagues to whom ACM and its members look for guidance and leadership in computing and information technology.


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Jim Ormond
Association for Computing Machinery
+1 (212) 626-0505
Email >
Visit website