Gifted Siblings Continue Their Search for Family, Safety and Answers in New Novel

Share Article

John Jewell provides the next chapter in his coming-of-age saga

“A Strange Boy” introduced readers to the telekinetic Leslie Johns and his sister Mary, as the two siblings struggled to survive without a proper guardian. The gifted youngsters refused to believe their father was dead and leveraged their own powers to find the truth about his disappearance. Finally reunited with their long-lost father, author John Jewell continues the story of the Johns siblings in “The Promise: A Sequel to A Strange Boy.”

“The Promise” continues the story of the supernatural Leslie and Mary, as they work to rebuild their relationship with their once-estranged father. The Johns family previously escaped the clutches of Sir Alastair Woodford and his tortuous experiments on the children, but their reunion is short-lived as danger and mystery descends once again.

Their former guardian, Woodford, is facing several charges that include kidnapping, while the children’s once close friend, Thomas, battles Leslie and Mary with powers of his own. “The Promise” sheds light on the struggle between good and evil and the importance of family and trust.

“I wrote The Promise with a desire to show how my characters will continue to grow when faced with danger and uncertainty,” Jewell said. “Leslie and Mary are dealing with conflict and strife at every turn, all the while still growing into young adults. This sequel allowed me to push my heroes into discovering their own morals and values.”

“The Promise: A Sequel to A Strange Boy”
By John L. Jewell
ISBN: 9871524666361 (hardcover) 9781524666378 (softcover) 9781524666354 (ebook)
Available at Amazon, Barnes and Noble and AuthorHouse

About the author
John L. Jewell enjoyed a lifelong career in catering, where he began as a trainee cook and rose to contract manager. After he retired and his wife subsequently passed away, John ventured into the world of literature where he ultimately found his purpose. John resides in Essex, England. He is also the author of The Egrenon series: Egrenon, Land of the Blittes, The Rise of Yarifel, and The New Mirsur Blood.

Review Copies & Interview Requests:
LAVIDGE – Phoenix
Jacquelyn Brazzale
480 998 2600 x 569

General Inquiries:
LAVIDGE – Phoenix
Satara Williams
480-998-2600 x 586

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Jacquelyn Brazzale
Email >