E Source Announces Winners of the 2017 Utility Ad Awards Contest

Share Article

Austin Energy and PSE Capture Best Overall Campaign Awards

At the 2017 E Source Forum in Denver, Colorado, E Source announced the winners of the 2017 Utility Ad Awards Contest. First and second place in the category of Best Overall Campaign for Non-Investor-Owned Utility went to Austin Energy and OUC, respectively. PSE earned first place in the category of Best Overall Campaign for Investor-Owned Utility and National Grid earned second place. The contest was open to electric and gas utilities in the US and Canada.

An independent group of judges selected the winners based on message, creativity, results, call to action or brand connection, and overall impression. Judges included Mindy Cheval, University of Colorado at Boulder, School of Journalism and Mass Communication; Shawn Silzer, CLCG Enterprises; Lucia Riley, SAS Institute; Kelly Diekman, KDesign Inc.; and Max Walter, Hollister Creative.

“Over the past nine years of this contest, we’ve been in the unique position of witnessing utilities adapt to the changing advertising landscape,” says Kym Wootton, vice president of Marketing at E Source. “The introduction of new technologies and platforms has enabled utilities to truly become customer-centric and adapt their marketing strategies to evolving customer tastes and communication preferences. E Source congratulates these innovative marketing and advertising teams!”

2017 E Source Utility Ad Awards Contest Winners

Best Overall Campaign for Non-Investor-Owned Utility
1.    Austin Energy
2.    OUC

Best Overall Campaign for Investor-Owned Utility
1.    PSE
2.    National Grid

Best Broadcast Television Ad
1.    SMUD
2.    PSE

Best Broadcast Radio Ad
1.    Colorado Springs Utilities
2.    Union Gas

Best Digital Display Ad
1.    Manitoba Hydro
2.    FirstEnergy Corp.

Best Print Ad
1.    BGE (tie)
1.    Nashville Electric Service (tie)
2.    Oncor

Best Event/Experiential Marketing
1.    Austin Energy
2.    KCP&L

Best Outdoor Ad
1.    National Grid
2.    OUC

Best Digital Streaming Content
1.    Westar Energy
2.    Manitoba Hydro

Best Social Media Ad
1.    Colorado Springs Utilities
2.    Efficiency Vermont

E Source presented OUC with the Crowd-Pleaser Award, which was based on online recognition. Facebook users voted by “liking” their favorite print advertisement on the E Source Facebook page.

The winning ads were honored at a special awards luncheon held during the 2017 E Source Forum. The winning ads from 2017 and prior years can be viewed at http://www.esource.com/adcontest-winners. Photos from the awards luncheon can be found on the E Source Facebook album.

About E Source
For 30 years, E Source has been providing research, consulting, and market research to more than 300 utilities and their partners. This guidance helps our customers advance their efficiency programs, enhance customer relationships, and use energy more efficiently.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Kym Wootton
E Source
+1 (303) 345-9168
Email >
Visit website