Fastcase Announces 2017 “Fastcase 50” Award Winners

Share Article

Honors 50 Innovators, Visionaries, and Leaders in Law

Introducing the Fastcase 50 Class of 2017

Legal publisher Fastcase today announced the company’s annual list of “Fastcase 50” honorees. Selected from online nominations, the award recognizes the year's 50 smartest, most courageous innovators, techies, visionaries, and leaders in the law.

View the 2017 winners at

Since the inaugural awards in 2011, the Fastcase 50 has spotlighted and applauded the most fascinating trailblazers and architects of the future of law and legal technology. The honorees for the Fastcase 50 Class of 2017 represent a diverse group of lawyers, legal technologists, policymakers, law librarians, bar association executives, and innovators from all walks of life. The award recognizes pioneering people who have made important contributions to the legal profession, for practitioners and the public

“The Fastcase 50 Award is one of our team’s favorite events each year,” said Fastcase CEO Ed Walters. “We may be entering a golden age of innovation in legal tech, and in the delivery of legal services, and you can really see that in this year’s list of recipients. There are real heroes among us, and we simply love to recognize their work,” he said.

This is the seventh class of Fastcase 50 honorees, and for a seventh consecutive year, the company received a record number of nominees. Fastcase is happy to introduce the Fastcase 50 Class of 2017.

Congratulations to the following Fastcase 50 award recipients:

Jonathan Askin, Founder and Director, Brooklyn Law Incubator & Policy Clinic
Joseph Bahgat, Managing Attorney, Bahgat & Bahgat
Sheila Baldwin, Member Benefits Coordinator, State Bar of Georgia
Marie Bernard, Europe Director of Innovation, Dentons; Strategic Advisor, Nextlaw Labs
Joyce Brafford, Interim Director of the Center for Practice Management and Practice Management Advisor, North Carolina Bar Association
Joshua Browder, Founder, DoNotPay
George Brown, Executive Director (retired), State Bar of Wisconsin
Abhijeet Chavan, Chief Technology Officer, Urban Insight, Inc.; Co-Founder, Planetizen
Laurence Colletti, Executive Producer, Legal Talk Network
Felicity Conrad, Co-Founder and CEO, Paladin
Jim Cook, Executive Director, Idaho Legal Aid Services
Robyn K. Crawford, Assistant State Attorney, Florida's Fifth Judicial Circuit
Kathryn DeBord, Chief Innovation Officer, Bryan Cave
Stephanie Everett, Executive Director, Lawyers for Equal Justice
Rian Gauvreau, Co-Founder and COO, Clio
Chris Geidner, Legal Editor and Supreme Court Correspondent, Buzzfeed
Haben Girma, Accessibility advocate and diversity consultant,
Tom Gordon, Executive Director, Responsive Law
Monica Goyal, Founder, My Legal Briefcase and Aluvion Law; Adjunct Professor of Law, Osgoode Hall Law School at York University
Maura R. Grossman, Author; Research Professor, David R. Cheriton School of Computer Science at the University of Waterloo, Ontario; Principal, Maura Grossman Law
Deepak Gupta, Founding Principal, Gupta Wessler PLLC.
Misha Guttentag, Co-Founder and Co-President, Yale’s Law and Technology Society
Sam Harden, Founder,,, and
Carla Hayden, 14th Librarian, Library of Congress
Cisselon Nichols Hurd, Senior Counsel, Shell Oil; Co-Founder, UT Center for Women in Law
Belinda Johnson, Chief of Business Affairs and Legal Officer, AIrbnb
Sun Kim, Special Counsel for Technology Initiatives, New York State Courts Access to Justice Program
Kevin Lee, Law Professor, Campbell Law School; Chair, North Carolina Bar Association Committee on the Future of Law
Thomas G. Martin, Founder, LawDroid; Co-Founder, Vancouver Legal Hackers
Anna McGrane, COO, PacerPro
Brooke Moore, Founder, MyVirtual.Lawyer
Mary Shen O'Carroll, Head of Legal Operations, Technology, and Strategy, Google
Rohan Pavuluri, Founder, Upsolve
Lawton Penn, Partner, Davis Wright Tremaine; Head of DWT De Novo
Jonathan Petts, Co-Founder, Upsolve
Allan Ramsaur, Executive Director Emeritus, Tennessee Bar Association
Allen Rodriguez, Fonder, ONE400
Antonia Roybal-Mack, Founder,
Jeff Sharer, Co-Chair, Akerman Data Law Center; Author
Michelle Silverthorn, Diversity and Education Director, Illinois Supreme Court Commission on Professionalism
Gordon Smith, Dean, BYU Law
Jason Smith, Senior Director and Legal Counsel, Apttus
Kristen Sonday, Co-Founder and COO, Paladin
Billie Tarascio, Founder, Modern Law PLLC
Kelvin Tran, Founder, Litimetrics
Cameron Vann, Senior Staff Attorney, Texas Lawyers’ Assistance Program of the State Bar of Texas
Darth Vaughn, Director of Legal Service Delivery, Haight Brown & Bonestee
Rochelle Washington, Practice Management Advisor, D.C. Bar
Janet Welch, Executive Director, State Bar of Michigan
Adam Ziegler, Managing Director, Harvard Law School Library Innovation Lab

Fastcase 50 recipients will be celebrated during the 2017 American Association of Law Libraries (AALL) Annual Meeting July 15-18 in Austin, Texas.

To view profiles of each of the winners and to learn more about the Fastcase 50 award, visit

About Fastcase
Fastcase is a leading legal publisher focused on smarter legal software that democratizes the law. Using patented software that combines the best of legal research with the best of Web search, Fastcase helps busy users sift through the clutter, ranking the best cases first and enabling the re-sorting of results to find answers fast. Founded in 1999, Fastcase has more than 800,000 subscribers from around the world. Fastcase is an American company based in Washington, D.C. For more information, follow Fastcase on Twitter at @Fastcase or visit


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Fastcase, Inc.
+1 (202) 621-8123
Email >


Email >
Visit website


Fastcase 50 - class of 2017Fastcase logo