Winning Writers Announces the Winners of the 3rd Annual North Street Book Prize for Self-Published Books

Share Article

Paul Thornton of Fort Myers, Florida, Alesa Lightbourne of Santa Cruz, California, and Nicole Evelina of Maryland Heights, Missouri each received $1,500 and additional benefits for their outstanding self-published books.

Winners of the 2017 North Street Book Prize

Paul Thornton (top left), Alesa Lightbourne (bottom left), and Nicole Evelina (bottom right)

Winning Writers awarded $6,250 to honor outstanding self-published books.

Winning Writers is pleased to announce the results from its 3rd annual North Street Book Prize for Self-Published Books. Paul Thornton of Fort Myers, Florida won first prize in Creative Nonfiction & Memoir for White Man's Disease, a gripping and inspiring memoir by an African-American businessman who was diagnosed with a brain tumor at age 29. Alesa Lightbourne of Santa Cruz, California won first prize in General Fiction for The Kurdish Bike, a richly textured and insightful autobiographical novel about an American teacher at an international school in Kurdish Iraq. Nicole Evelina of Maryland Heights, Missouri won first prize in Young Adult Fiction for Daughter of Destiny, a spiritual and feminist fantasy novel retelling the legend of King Arthur from Queen Guinevere's point of view.

The top winners each received $1,500, a marketing analysis and one-hour phone consultation with Carolyn Howard-Johnson (author of The Frugal Book Promoter), a $300 credit at BookBaby, and three free ads in the Winning Writers newsletter (a $450 value).

Seven Honorable Mentions of $250 went to Cynthia Allen, Imani Josey, Robbi Pounds, Robin Reardon, Patricia Rohner, D.B. Sieders, and Michael Ward. Final judges were Ellen LaFleche and Jendi Reiter, assisted by Annie Keithline and Lauren Singer Ledoux. There were 378 entries in all. Excerpts and critiques of the top 10 entries are published at

The 4th contest is open now through June 30, 2018. One Grand Prize winner across all categories will receive $3,000 plus marketing support, one of the largest prizes offered exclusively to authors of self-published books. Runners-up in each category will receive prizes of $1,000 and $250. The entry fee is $60 per book. This year's categories are Mainstream/Literary Fiction, Genre Fiction, Creative Nonfiction & Memoir, Poetry (new), and Children's Picture Book (new).

In addition to the North Street Book Prize, Winning Writers sponsors the Tom Howard/John H. Reid Fiction & Essay Contest, the Tom Howard/Margaret Reid Poetry Contest, and the no-fee Wergle Flomp Humor Poetry Contest. Writer's Digest has named Winning Writers one of the "101 Best Websites for Writers" (2015-2017). Join our 103,000 followers on Twitter.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

+1 (866) 946-9748
Email >
since: 02/2010
Follow >
Winning Writers
Like >
Follow us on
Visit website