In Coming-of-Age journey Boy Learns Happiness Comes From Life’s Simple Things

Share Article

Action-adventure novel ‘Bad Luck Good Luck’ is author Roy Paul Shields’ newest publication

News Image

In Roy Paul Shields’ eighth book, the new action-adventure novel, “Bad Luck Good Luck” (published by Archway Publishing), a boy embarks on a coming-of-age journey when he is stranded on a deserted island full of wildlife; he learns that happiness comes from the simplest things in life. The book is also available for purchase at:

After a storm destroys his family’s 40-foot sailboat and takes 6-year-old Scott Christian’s family, Scott wakes up alone on a large, uncharted jungle island. To stay alive, Scott must rely on the survival skills his father taught him. As Scott begins to forge a life on the island, he finds prehistoric animals, ancient wonders, vast treasures and an unusual family when he finds and raises an orphaned gorilla, Buddy. While they both mature, they form a unique family with more gorillas and two foxes. Nearly 17 years later when a group lands on the island to study it and its ruins, Scott discovers that the greatest surprises in life sometimes bring the greatest rewards.

Hoping that the variety of subjects and adventures will appeal to readers, Shields also notes the book’s relevance, saying, “We humans are becoming more aware of the destruction of our wildlife, plus it is one adventure after another with romance for good measure.”

“Bad Luck Good Luck”
By Roy Paul Shields
Hardcover | 6 x 9 in | 240 pages | ISBN 9781480854826
Softcover | 6 x 9 in | 240 pages | ISBN 9781480854840
E-Book | 240 pages | ISBN 9781480854833
Available at Amazon and Barnes & Noble

About the Author
Although Roy Paul Shields is a writer, he sees himself as mostly a dreamer and a storyteller with a big imagination. He has worn many hats in my life’s journey. He has done everything he set out to do in life; from gold mining to driving race cars and everything in between. In “Bad Luck Good Luck,” Shields’s newest book, he gave Scott the benefit of his own Marine survival training and experiences in other adventures in his own life. Shields’ other books include “Love Me Tender: A Story,” “Jazz and the Journey,” “Sentimental Journey” and the four-book “Freedom Villagers” series: “Depths of Terror,” “Out of Darkness,” “Finders Keepers” and “Peace Has A Price”.

Simon & Schuster, a company with nearly ninety years of publishing experience, has teamed up with Author Solutions, LLC, the leading self-publishing company worldwide, to create Archway Publishing. With unique resources to support books of all kind, Archway Publishing offers a specialized approach to help every author reach his or her desired audience. For more information, visit or call 888-242-5904.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Marketing Services
Visit website