National ACO Seeking Physician Participants for Third Performance Year in the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) Next Generation ACO Model

Share Article

Enrollment Period for Physician Participants for the Third Performance Year for National ACO

National ACO (NACO) is one of 58 accountable care organizations (ACO) that are participating in the Next Generation ACO Model for the 2018 performance year. NACO is currently seeking qualified physician participants to align with for participation in the 2019 performance year.

NACO assists community-based physicians, providers and suppliers to not only survive, but thrive as they transform from volume to value-based care.

The Next Generation ACO Model is an innovative alternative to the Medicare Shared Savings Program is qualified as an Advanced Alternative Payment Model (APM) and is an alternative to Merit-based Incentive Payment System (MIPS). In addition, the Model offers financial incentives and benefit enhancements that include expanded telehealth services, post-discharge home visits, and a waiver of the three-day skilled nursing facility (SNF) rule. These incentives and enhancements aid in decreasing costs and improving health care coordination, and overall patient outcomes. It advances the traditional health care delivery system, from a volume-based non-risk fee-for-service (FFS) model to a value-based performance-risk model. This Medicare ACO initiative enables NACO and other participants to develop innovative approaches to improve cost savings and patient population management. The Model also empowers hospitals and physicians to take on greater risk and provides opportunity for greater reward.

The goal of the Next Generation ACO Model is to bridge traditional FFS and Original Medicare payments to alternative payment mechanisms. NACO has chosen to participate in a Population-Based Payments (PBP) arrangement. The ACO will determine a percentage to the base FFS payments of its Next Generation Participants and Preferred Providers for care supplied to the Next Generation Performance Year-aligned beneficiaries. CMS will then pay the projected total annual amount taken out of the FFS rates to the ACO in monthly payments.

“The Next Generation ACO Model gives experienced ACOs the opportunity to implement innovative care coordination strategies to improve patient care and value in the health care delivery system,” said Andre Berger, M.D., CEO of National ACO. “NACO is honored to continue to participate in the NGACO Model for a second year, developing progressive mechanisms to remain at the forefront of healthcare inspiring transformation to achieve the ‘triple aim’ objectives.”

National ACO’s “triple aim” objective includes population health, experience of care and per capita cost. They look forward to expounding on current innovations and success for their third performance year and kick starting their 2019 performance year with aligned participants who value the same objectives.

Since 2012, the Medicare Shared Savings Program and Innovation Center initiatives have expanded and progressed significantly, demonstrating their ability to improve quality of care and generate savings.

National ACO was successful in the Medicare Shared Savings Program, generating approximately $14.7 M dollars in savings for CMS since its inception in 2013 through 2015. Moving into the Next Generation ACO Model in 2018, NACO has over 335 providers that provide services in California, Tennessee, Nevada, and Pennsylvania. NACO will be directly affecting more than 33,000 beneficiaries in several NACO serviced territories.

“As a physician owned and governed ACO, we continue to develop innovative solutions utilizing program benefits and incentives to efficiently manage our patient population and reduce unnecessary costs in the health care system. In our second year in the Next Generation ACO Model, we are committed to assist the community-based physicians nationally to create opportunities to increase value, achieve the Triple Aim and Thrive” said Alex Foxman, M.D., F.A.C.P., President, Board Member and Chief Medical Officer of National ACO, LLC.

The Next Generation ACO Model program represents an innovative and advanced approach to healthcare delivery and was created to facilitate care coordination among providers. NACO is excited to be an integral part of innovation in our health care delivery system and remains committed to excellence in achieving the “triple-aim” in their first year and future performance years as a new Next Generation Model ACO participant.

For detailed information on National ACO and how to become a Participating Provider, please email us at info(at)nationalacollc(dot)com. The deadline for expressing interest to become a Participating Provider is June 20th, 2018.

For more information on the Next Generation ACO Model, visit the CMS Innovation Center website at

National ACO, LLC
(310) 691.1356
M-F 8:00am – 5:00pm PST

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author


Alex Foxman, M.D.
Visit website