Stunning New Series: Lipstick Mountains Memoirs is Little Black Dress of Women’s Literary Wardrobe

Share Article

The third addition to a series of searing memoirs — 'Rattle Snake Lodge: Memoirs of a Seeing Woman', by B.K. Smith — is being released early spring 2015 by Lipstick Mountains Press.

'Sands Point - Memoirs of a Money Trader' by B.K. Smith [Book 2 of the Lipstick Mountains Memoirs series]

Each scene is painted in vivid color, and it is easy to lose yourself amongst the powerful imagery. The writing is poetic and rhythmic and verily voluptuous.

The first book in the series, 'Chelsea Matinee, Memoirs of an Easy Woman' attracted widespread attention when it was published in July 2014. Reviewers praised the brilliant and evocative writing, this is romance noir, and were appreciative of the contemporary relationships portrayed by New York author B.K. Smith.

The second memoir in the series, 'Sands Point, Memoirs of a Money Trader' hit the eBook pad in November 2014. While book #1 'Chelsea Matinee' dealt with the powerful sexual awakening of young painter Stella in a Chelsea studio in New York City in the seventies, book #2 'Sands Point' leaped ahead to the North Shore and the money-obsessed eighties.

'Sands Point, Memoirs of a Money Trader' is awash in wealth and intrigue, the best that money can buy. Fast cars, fast markets and fast talkers are the winners in this world — but is money enough? Deception and intrigue fill the pages of this brilliant novel, as our three main characters find themselves trapped in the classic triangle.

Soon the next memoir of the series will be available: 'Rattle Snake Lodge, Memoirs of a Seeing Woman'. From New York we move to the town of Santa Salsa on the most southern border of Texas. Our heroine, Amanda French, is a stylish corporate woman who walks away from a big life. She discovers a remote little universe that is each rich and poor, fertile and productive. But this universe won’t keep a brutal secret forever and Amanda has come to Texas to see the tea leaves and to bear witness.

Like the previous books in the series, 'Rattle Snake Lodge' focuses on a contemporary female hero; complex, flawed and steeped in sexuality and intellect. B.K Smith is skilled in capturing the spirit of these women, and making them sympathetic, tragic and darkly powerful. Attention to small details is what elevates these books. Each scene is painted in vivid color, and it is easy to lose yourself amongst the powerful imagery. The writing is poetic and rhythmic and verily voluptuous.

B.K. Smith has done that difficult thing: created a body of work whereby each story stands alone and also hangs together with the others. Each narrative is rich and full and blissfully decadent, but also it has content and substance. These books do not pull punches, and they are not easy escapist romances. Instead they deal with themes all modern women will identify with: the skill needed to navigate a world of powerful men, and manage a balancing act of sex and purity, faith and practical; to manage vulnerability and still emerge as an intelligent, thoughtful, capable woman. These stories do not disappoint.

Classy, sexy and seductive, these books belong on every literary woman’s bedside table.

About the author
B.K. Smith was raised in New York City. She has worked on Madison Avenue, Seventh Avenue and Wall Street. She attended the Fashion Institute of Technology, The New School for Social Research & New York Medical College. She writes in New York City and Arizona.

Since 2010, (based in Sudbury, Massachusetts) has helped thousands of authors and publishers get their books converted to ebook format, and distributed to all the major ebook retailers, including,, Apple iBookstore, Kobo, Sony Readerstore, Ingram Digital, and Google eBookstore.

The Lipstick Mountains Memoirs (ebooks and blogs).
Madison Avenue Publishers, LLC. (info(at)MadAvePub(dot)com) 2015

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

B.K. Smith
Lipstick Mountains Press
+1 602-622-1078
Email >
Visit website