Author Carolyn Howard Releases Her Third Biographical Fiction Novel

Share Article

“Liza, Ever Always” is a story of pioneer living in the 1840s in southwestern Indiana, the second volume of “Lost River Saga.”

'Liza, Ever Always' by Carolyn Howard

'Lost River Saga' tells the story of four people, their lives, and how their lives eventually intertwined. 'Liza, Ever Always' is the second installment in that series.

Author Carolyn Howard has released her third biographical fiction novel entitled “Liza, Ever Always.” This volume is the second installment of “Lost River Saga” which is based on a true story from events that occurred in southwestern Indiana in the 1840s.

Growing up in pioneer Indiana was hard work, but Liza Stanfield and Albey Quackenbush made it look easy. They lived with their parents on the farm, worked hard and loved life. They tapped maple trees for syrup, went mushroom hunting and square dancing, and sometimes even ran across a bootlegger or two.

John Ritter’s life as a pioneer was a little different. He was a medical doctor with the genuine goal of making his world a better place through teaching and healing. He took care of his family and mentored his young brother-in-law in the practice of medicine. He treated his patients using herbs as well as the sulfur water later bottled as “Pluto Water.” He also used the purgative Brandreth’s Pills that the traveling medicine peddler, John Lane, sold from the back of his wagon.

Contrast the lives of these pioneers and their peaceful worlds with the dilettante, William Bowles. Bowles was the founder of the town of French Lick, Indiana and built the first luxury spa and hotel there. Originally from Paoli, Indiana, Bowles, who was also a medical doctor, was a genius who had amassed a great fortune. Even so, what Bowles wanted more than anything was political power. He felt that by serving in the Mexican-American War, he would have a better chance of winning Indiana’s Lieutenant Governor, especially if he came home a hero. In a rigged election, Bowles, who had no military training whatsoever, won the colonelcy of the Second Indiana regiment. He would lead his regiment through the Battle of Buena Vista, but would he come home a hero?

“Lost River Saga” tells the story of these four people, their lives, and how their lives eventually intertwined. “Liza, Ever Always” is the second installment in that series. This volume can stand on its own without needing to read the first volume.

“Liza, Ever Always” was published by and is available for e-download and paperback at all major on-line retailers, including Amazon and Barnes & Noble.

Carolyn Howard


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Carolyn Howard

+1 812-479-9634
Email >
Visit website