Out Now: Ice-T & Mr. X Release Remixes & Remakes Album (Electronic Beat Empire)

Share Article

Remixes & Remakes is the fourth album released on Electronic Beat Empire, also known as EBE Nation, the electronic dance music imprint recently launched by Ice-T and Mr. X. Producers Wasabi Bytes and Tyree Cooper join Mr. X on this album.

EBE Nation is a serious record label with an experimental, techno bent. It’s fearless. It’s timeless.

Decisive. Incisive. Raw. Since launching their new electronic dance music (EDM) record label, Electronic Beat Empire – also known as EBE Nation – founders Ice-T and Mr. X have been on a roll recording and releasing new music. The latest effort is Remixes & Remakes (Electronic Beat Empire), out now.

EBE Nation is a serious record label with an experimental, techno bent. It’s fearless. It’s timeless. The Wasabi Bytes remix of Mr. X’s “Alright” is hauntingly irresistible and utterly groovy, an eerily good tech-house track like something from an alien planet. Mr. X’s “Atomic Age” gets a double treatment with remixes by Tyree Cooper and another one by Wasabi Bytes. Tyree Cooper takes “Atomic Age” and slows the tempo for a sultry, throwback vibe that’s at once thrilling and narcotic. Wasabi Bytes takes the track and infuses it with an electro-inspired magic that propels it forward onto a dizzying dancefloor. On “Hunted Child” (2019 Remix), Ice-T’s urgent rapping is social commentary spotlighting the desperation so familiar to inner-city youth forced to survive life on the streets as victims of systemic inequality. “Bounce That Ass” (Mr. X 2019 Remix) features the timeless, bad-ass rapping of Ice-T in this sitar-infused ode to twerking. “The Brutal” (2019 Remix) is taken from EBE Nation’s inaugural release of the same name with the 2019 remix exhibiting an acid-jazzy vibe that’s a pleasant surprise. “The Dancing Gypsy” (Mr. X Remix) takes Eastern Europe’s minor-chord melodies and reinterprets them into this fully danceable track. A ruthless breakbeat on “The EBE Commercial” (Mr. X Remix) takes the track’s techno roots and twists them with hip-hop’s rhythmic, staccato vocals. “House Sauce” (2019 Remix) is a tech-house track ruled by a disembodied female vocal warning, “they’re here / they’re here / run / I’m scared / run / I’m scared,” an allusion to extra-terrestrials that are already here. “Not Tech Enuff” (Mr. X 2019 Remix) is a thrilling joyride down an urban highway, one that allows the listener to experience life as though racing through a video game.

About Ice-T

Ice-T is a rapper, actor and record producer whose influence on American pop culture cannot be understated. Once an edgy and controversial rapper, Ice-T is as relevant in pop culture today as any mainstream actor/musician/entrepreneur. Ice-T is today widely known as an actor for his recurring role as police Detective Odafin “Fin” Tutuola on “Law & Order: Special Victims Unit,” a syndicated television police drama on which he’s starred since 2000. That show is on track to become one of the longest-running television programs in history. A great irony is that Ice-T’s perhaps most notorious early rap song was a collaboration with the band Body Count in 1992 on a track titled, “Cop Killer,” a groove metal and punk-rock song that left an indelible mark on pop culture. Ice-T’s 1988 song, “Colors,” was the theme song for Dennis Hopper’s gang-based film of the same name. Subsequent albums by Ice-T in the 1980’s cemented his status as one of the West Coast’s most promising voices, with albums like O.G. Original Gangster (1991) often cited as one of the key factors in influencing the genre today known as “gangsta rap.” Mixing social commentary with inflammatory lyrics, Ice-T pushed musical boundaries by recording and performing with the heavy metal band, Body Count. Ice-T has achieved multiple Billboard hit singles, including collaborations with heavy metal bands, Black Sabbath and Slayer. In addition to the “Law & Order: Special Victims Unit” television series, other acting roles for Ice-T include the reality show with his wife, Nicole “Coco” Austin, “Ice Loves Coco,” on the E! Entertainment Television Network. Early film acting roles for Ice-T (real name: Tracy Lauren Marrow) include, New Jack City (1991), Ricochet (1991), Trespass (1992) and Johnny Mnemonic (1995).

A great deal of media attention in the EDM world has been paid lately to Ice-T’s new record label, Electronic Beat Empire, with coverage appearing in publications: Rolling Stone, DJ Times, RaverMag, OneEDM, TMZ.com, YourEDM, Songfacts, EDMTunes, EDMSauce, EDM World Magazine, RappersRoom, DigitalJournal, ThatDrop, TheDJList, and more. American radio stations have also taken note of Electronic Beat Empire and its releases, with on-air coverage on: SiriusXM Radio “BPM,” SiriusXM “Volume,” SiriusXM “Rock The Bells Radio,” SiriusXM “Shade45; iHeartRadio “Weekend Top30 Countdown”; WPRO-FM (Boston/Providence) “Electric Dance Party”; KLUC-FM Radio (Las Vegas) “Club 985”; Groove Radio; 93.5FM Radio (Miami); 104.7FM Radio (Fort Lauderdale); Pulse Radio, and more. Ice-T remains an American icon.

About Mr. X

Mr. X has been a fixture on the European techno scene for 16 years. He was, together with Westbam, part of the group known as Mr. X & Mr. Y. As a DJ and producer, Mr. X (aka Afrika Islam) thrilled audiences at now-legendary raves, the Glastonbury Festival, Berlin’s Love Parade, and the seminal Mayday Festivals across Europe. Nightclubs across the European continent saw Mr. X performing throughout Germany, Poland, Russia and the Czech Republic. The die-hard techno music-lovers of Eastern Europe took a strong liking to Mr. X, affectionately dubbing him the Machine Gun, the Red Alien, Master, and the Hybrid, due to his legendary 50-track DJ sets. Mainstream media outlets in Europe embraced Mr. X and he appeared on the British television program, “Top Of The Pops.” Mr. X is the first major artist signing to the newly launched Electronic Beat Empire record imprint with the first release, The Brutal E.P. The second album released on EBE was Hip Hop DJs Don’t Play Techno, an album which earned an enormous amount of media coverage and radio airplay in the U.S. in 2018. The album It Came From Space followed in December 2018. The current album is Remixes & Remakes.

Get Ice-T & Mr. X’s Remixes & Remakes (Electronic Beat Empire), here: http://hyperurl.co/lx2yt3

For information on Ice-T, Mr. X, Electronic Beat Empire and EBE Nation, Andrew Rayel, Markus Schulz, Gattuso, MaRLo, Maro Music (Marek Walaszek), Dan Popi (Cat Music), Zander (Traveler), Brussels Airlines (proud partner of Tomorrowland), Riddim Travelers ft Dutchess & Cherae, and artists like Armin van Buuren, contact EMILY TAN Media Relations (U.S.), +1(917) 318-3758, EmilyEmilyTan@aol.com. Follow EMILY TAN Media Relations: https://www.linkedin.com/in/emilyemilytan/, https://www.facebook.com/EMILYTANMEDIARELATIONS, https://twitter.com/EmilyEmilyTan, https://www.instagram.com/emilytanmediarelations/.

#        #        #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Emily Tan
EMILY TAN Media Relations
+1 (917) 318-3758
Email >
Follow >