"The law allows first-time, nonviolent misdemeanors and low-level felony convictions committed as an adult to be erased after 15 years if people are able to demonstrate "good moral character" and good behavior.
Raleigh, North Carolina (PRWEB) August 30, 2013
In North Carolina there has been a recent expansion of the case law surrounding expungement policies and statutes for those involved in Misdemeanor offenses and low-level felony charges, in addition to charges that do not result in a guilty verdict. Previous North Carolina statute stated that only those Defendants under the age of 18 could have any Misdemeanor offense expunged from their criminal records. For those under the age of 21 only Misdemeanor Underage Consumption and Misdemeanor Underage Possession can be expunged from the criminal record. Any Defendants that do not fall in either of those categories, in other words, those who are above the age of 21, can only have charges that resulted in a not guilty verdict or dismissal expunged from their record. "For those facing an expungement situation it is important to keep in mind, based on North Carolina statute, each Defendant gets only ONE expungement in their lifetime. Therefore it is imperative that you use this opportunity wisely and learn from your mistakes to avoid future charges," says Raleigh Criminal Attorney Moseley Matheson. However, with the relatively recent update to the expungement law there is more leniency with how and when an expungement can be used.
In a news report posted on August 24, 2013 through the WRAL News Site, members of the North Carolina justice system discuss the new expansion to the expungement laws. "The law allows first-time, nonviolent misdemeanors and low-level felony convictions committed as an adult to be erased after 15 years if people are able to demonstrate "good moral character" and good behavior. Charges that don't result in conviction also can be expunged," states the WRAL new report. For those that fall into the category of 21 years or older this now means that you are being given the ability to expunge guilty verdicts as well as not guilty verdicts. However, this does not in any way change the fact that each person only gets one in their lifetime. That being said it would be far more beneficial to have a guilty verdict expunged in opposition to a dismissal or not guilty verdict.
The new legislation not only benefits those with criminal records and guilty verdicts but it also has a positive effect on the state of North Carolina. Since the laws enactment the amount of people with criminal records, "...from 2008 to 2010, the total fell by 1 percent as legislators increased the opportunities to erase old criminal records," says WRAL news reporter. This new law is now giving Raleigh Criminal Attorneys the opportunity to dole out second chances to clients. This gets more work for criminal attorneys, the justice system, helps the states outward image as a positive place to live, and gives the Defendants a second chance at a clean record.
If you are facing a DWI charge in North Carolina and are in need of a Raleigh Criminal Lawyer, contact the Matheson Law Office, Pllc for your free consultation at 919-335-5291. They have handled hundreds of cases and are very experienced in Wake County DWI Defense.