The Davis Phinney Foundation Announces Webinar Series to Help People with Parkinson’s Live Well

Share Article

At a time when many people are practicing social distancing, the Davis Phinney Foundation is delighted to provide a comprehensive series of webinars, hosted by some of the top healthcare experts in their fields.

“With so many people having their lives disrupted, whether it’s because of their chronic illness or because they are practicing social distancing, this is an opportune time to use the power of online resources,” says Mel Dizon, the director of education at the Davis Phinney Foundation.

At a time when many people are practicing social distancing, the Davis Phinney Foundation is delighted to provide a comprehensive series of webinars, hosted by some of the top healthcare experts in their fields. The webinars are a safe way for people living with Parkinson’s, their care partners, and their loved ones to learn about everything from pain management to holistic care.

The foundation produces and provides these resources and much more to the community free of charge. To register or learn more, go to Live Well Today.

“With so many people having their lives disrupted, whether it’s because of their chronic illness or because they are practicing social distancing, this is an opportune time to use the power of online resources,” says Mel Dizon, the director of education at the Davis Phinney Foundation.

The full schedule is as follows:

  • “Pain and Parkinson’s” with Dr. Janis Miyasaki
  • Monday, April 6 at 10 a.m. Mountain Time
  • (9 a.m. Pacific, 11 a.m. Central, 12 p.m. Eastern)
  • Social Connection with Dr. Al Condeluci
  • Wednesday, April 15 at 11:30 a.m. Mountain Time
  • (10:30 a.m. Pacific, 12:30 p.m. Central, 1:30 p.m. Eastern)
  • Parkinson’s for Primary Care Doctors and Allied Health Professionals with Dr. Ray Dorsey
  • Tuesday, July 7 at 2 p.m. Mountain Time
  • (1 p.m. Pacific, 3 p.m. Central, 4 p.m. Eastern)
  • Adopting the Mind of a Dancer with David Leventhal
  • Tuesday, August 11 at 12 p.m. Mountain Time
  • (11 a.m. Pacific, 1 p.m. Central, 2 p.m. Eastern)
  • Holistic/Supportive Care with Dr. Christopher Tarolli
  • Wednesday, September 16 at 1 p.m. Mountain Time
  • (12 p.m. Pacific, 2 p.m. Central, 3 p.m. Eastern)
  • Medication Management with Dr. Aaron Haug
  • Wednesday, October 7 at 2 p.m. Mountain Time
  • (1 p.m. Pacific, 3 p.m. Central, 4 p.m. Eastern)

The upcoming webinars are not the only online resources the foundation provides. Past webinar recordings are available as well. More online resources, including a blog, podcasts, an exercise essentials video, worksheets, and much more are available here.

The Davis Phinney Foundation was founded by Olympic cyclist Davis Phinney in 2004 to help people with Parkinson’s live well today. The organization’s focus is to provide programs, early stage research, and resources that offer inspiration, information and tools that enable people living with Parkinson’s to take action that can immediately improve their quality of life. Parkinson’s is the No. 2 neurodegenerative disease – second to Alzheimer’s – and affects more than 1 million people in the United States. The Foundation’s work impacts hundreds of thousands of individuals and families each year.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Jenna Deidel
Visit website