2013 Unsigned Only Music Competition Announces Finalists

Share Article

Chrissie Hynde, Neon Trees, Carly Simon, Of Monsters And Men, Iggy Pop, Hunter Hayes, Faith Evans and More to Select Winners.

A Different Music Competition, Period.

The mentoring opportunities provided are nothing short of incredible

Nashville, TN: Unsigned Only Music Competition has announced its finalists for the 2013 competition. Now in its second year, Unsigned Only received more than 9,000 entries from over 100 countries worldwide. Winners are selected by a panel of high-profile recording artists and influential music journalists. Winners will be announced by August 31, 2013.

For a complete list of finalists, go to http://www.unsignedonly.com/winners.

All finalists are also posted on the Unsigned Only Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/UnsignedOnly and the public can vote for its favorite artist. Voting will take place until Friday, August 26, 2013, and the overall “Fandemonium” winner will be announced with the rest of the Unsigned Only winners. The Fandemonium winner is completely separate from the regular winners selected by the Unsigned Only judges.

There will be a First and Second Place winner in each category as well as an Overall Grand Prize winner. Categories include: Adult Album Alternative (AAA); Adult Contemporary (AC); Christian; Country; Folk/SingerSongwriter; R&B/Hip-Hop; Rock; Pop/Top 40; Teen; and Vocal Performance.

Produced by the same team behind the prestigious International Songwriting Competition (ISC), Unsigned Only offers a fresh and novel approach to other music competitions. Designed for artists who are not signed to a major record label, Unsigned Only's goal is to discover outstanding artists and help them further their music career.

As part of the prize package, the Grand Prize winner will be awarded the opportunity to directly network with, and be mentored by, the top echelon of record company professionals, including label presidents and A&R executives. This is an unprecedented opportunity that allows the winner to receive advice and guidance from top executives who are the decision makers in the industry.

According to last year’s Grand Prize winner, Lara Johnston, "Being the Grand Prize winner of Unsigned Only has been a definite high point of my career thus far. The mentoring opportunities provided are nothing short of incredible; I've had in-depth conversations with the uppermost gatekeepers and leaders of the music industry. I can't think of another music competition that would provide an unsigned artist the chance to have a face-to-face meeting and showcase with Monte Lipman, President and CEO of Universal Republic Records and Wendy Goldstein, the label's Senior VP of A&R. Since winning Unsigned Only, I've garnered invaluable advice from a rich variety of perspectives, and I've had the chance to start relationships with people who can truly help me in my career.”

2013 judges include: Chrissie Hynde (The Pretenders); Neon Trees; Cyndi Lauper; Iggy Pop; Carly Simon; John Oates (Hall & Oates); Eve; Of Monsters and Men; Brandi Carlile; 3 Doors Down; Black Francis (The Pixies); Ryan Bingham; David Crowder; Craig Morgan; Robert Smith (The Cure); Darryl McDaniels (Run DMC); Faith Evans; Aaron Shust; Hunter Hayes; G. Love; Jason Gray; Dustin Lynch; The Mountain Goats; Anthony DeCurtis (Contributing Editor, Rolling Stone); Josh Jackson (Co-Founder and Editor-In-Chief, Paste Magazine); Christopher Weingarten (Senior Editor, Spin); and Chris Richards (Pop Music Critic, The Washington Post).

Mentors include: Monte Lipman (President of Universal Republic Records); Harve Pierre (President/Head of A&R, Bad Boy Records); Pete Ganbarg (Executive VP/Head of A&R, Atlantic Records); Shawn Holiday (Senior VP of A&R, RCA Records and Sony/ATV Music Publishing); Josh Bailey (Sr. VP of A&R, Word Label Group); Kim Stephens (President, Forward Entertainment and A&R/Capitol Music Group); Allison B. Jones (VP of A&R, Big Machine Label Group), Lisa Ramsey Perkins (Senior Director of A&R, Sony Music Nashville); Mio Vukovic (Senior VP of A&R/Head of Creative, Disney Music Group); and Dre McKenzie (Head of A&R, G-Unit Records).

Unsigned Only is sponsored by Sony Creative Software, Disc Makers, D'Addario, David Bean Photography, Mrs. Fields Cookies, The Music Business Registry, Celebrity Access, and CAD Audio.

For more information, please contact Candace Avery at 615.251.4441 or cavery(at)unsignedonly(dot)com.

For entry and general information, please go to http://www.unsignedonly.com.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Candace Avery
Unsigned Only
Email >
Visit website