Multiple Award Winning Author David D. Levine Sells Science Fiction Adventure to Science Fiction Publisher Tor

Share Article

The L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest Winner from 2002 Sells His First Novel in a 3 book Deal

Writers Of The Future Logo

Writers Of The Future Logo

Hundreds of winners have had successful writing careers following their win and publication in the anthology, and to date has launched the careers of 12 New York Times bestsellers.

L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future winner from 2002 and Hugo Award winner David D. Levine has just sold "Regency Interplanetary Airship Adventure" of the novel Arabella of Mars to SF publisher Tor in a three-book deal. The first volume will be published in late 2015 or early 2016, with two sequels to follow at yearly intervals.

Arabella Ashby is a Patrick O'Brian girl in a Jane Austen world -- born and raised on Mars, she was hauled back home by her mother, where she's stifled by England's gravity, climate, and attitudes toward women. When she learns that her evil cousin plans to kill her brother and inherit the family fortune, she joins the crew of an interplanetary clipper ship in order to beat him to Mars. But privateers, mutiny, and insurrection stand in her way. Will she arrive in time?

Arabella of Mars will appeal to fans of Naomi Novik's Temeraire books, Scott Westerfeld's Leviathan trilogy, and Mary Robinette Kowal's Glamourist Histories, all of which are fast-paced adventures combining a historical setting with a fantasy/SF twist. A novelette in the same universe, "The Wreck of the Mars Adventure," appeared in Locus Award winning anthology Old Mars, edited by George R. R. Martin and Gardner Dozois; another related novelette, "The End of the Silk Road," appeared in F&SF.

David has also been keeping busy with short stories. In addition to "The Wreck of the Mars Adventure" in Old Mars and "The End of the Silk Road" in F&SF, mentioned above, David also published "Goat Eyes" in Black Static, "A Practical Mechanism for Overcoming the Directionality of Temporal Flow" in HELP FUND MY ROBOT ARMY!!! and Other Improbable Crowdfunding Projects, "Artist's Retrospective" in Daily Science Fiction, and two stories in Analog: "Mammals" and "Wavefronts of History and Memory." "Tk'Tk'Tk" was reprinted in 21st Century Science Fiction, and "Liaisons Galantes: A Scientific Romance" was reprinted in The Best of Beneath Ceaseless Skies Online Magazine, Year Five; "Pupa" was podcast at StarShipSofa.

Forthcoming stories include "Cry Wolf" in Lowball, the next Wild Cards book (November 2014); "Malf" in Mission: Tomorrow (Fall 2015); and "Damage" at (early 2015).

The Writers of the Future Contest began in 1983 and attracts entries worldwide in science fiction and fantasy. Twelve quarterly winners receive prize monies and, along with selected finalists, are published in an annual anthology, L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future (Galaxy Press). The book is sold in bookstores and at and gives the winners the exposure that they need.

Inspired by multiple New York Times best-selling author L. Ron Hubbard, the merit-based Writers of the Future Contest was initiated by him to discover and encourage talented beginning writers of science fiction and fantasy, and thus launch careers.

The idea has proved very successful. Hundreds of winners have had successful writing careers following their win and publication in the anthology, and to date has launched the careers of 12 New York Times bestsellers including: Jo Beverley, Tobias S. Buckell, Nancy Farmer, Eric Flint, Karen Joy Fowler, Tim Myers, Patrick Rothfuss, Lisa Smedmen, Dean Wesley Smith, Elizabeth Wein, Sean Williams and Dave Wolverton aka David Farland.

Wolverton recommends that prospective writers visit for more information on how to enter the contest.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Joni Labaqui
Visit website