Kauffman Foundation Announces 2015 Recipients of Junior Faculty Fellowship Grants

Share Article

Program annually awards grants of $35,000 each to seven junior faculty members

The Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation announced today the recipients of the Kauffman Junior Faculty Fellowship in Entrepreneurship Research (KJFF). The program recognizes junior faculty members in the United States whose research has the potential to make significant contributions to the body of literature in entrepreneurship. Each Fellow’s university will receive a grant of $35,000 over several years to support the research activities of the Fellow.

“Supporting new and emerging scholars studying entrepreneurship helps us identify important new trends in entrepreneurship,” said E.J. Reedy, director of Research & Policy at the Foundation. “The Fellows’ future research will be translated into knowledge with application for policymakers, educators, service providers and entrepreneurs on topics that include: the effects of local policies on entrepreneurial activity, how cultural and institutional mechanisms produce gender inequalities in entrepreneurship, and the hiring patterns and practices of new companies.”

The 2015 Junior Faculty Fellows, along with their university affiliations, are:

Manuel Adelino, Duke University
Jean-Noël Barrot, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Jason Greenberg, New York University
Kyle L. Handley, University of Michigan
Shon R. Hiatt, University of Southern California
Juan Carlos Suárez Serrato, Duke University
Sarah Thébaud, University of California, Santa Barbara

The KJFF is one of several programs in the Kauffman Emerging Scholars initiative, which supports the overall goal of building the field of entrepreneurship research. The initiative, which includes the KJFF, Kauffman Dissertation Fellowships and the Ewing Marion Kauffman Prize Medal for Distinguished Research in Entrepreneurship, along with doctoral training programs that assist talented emerging scholars in their efforts to earn doctoral degrees, encourages scholars to conduct research early in their careers and recognizes ground-breaking research—all with a focus on entrepreneurship and innovation.

Over the past decade, Kauffman Emerging Scholars have gone on to do exceptional work in entrepreneurship and innovation, and have contributed to developing what is now a dynamic field of study. The Foundation’s Emerging Scholars initiative supports and recognizes achievements at each career level of an academic professional.

Previous research out of this initiative has contributed to the Kauffman Foundation’s knowledge on emerging topics such as crowdfunding, accelerators and gender issues. Meeting these scholars early on in their careers helps add to our network of entrepreneurial scholars, who together, will continue to build and grow this field of research.

“We look forward to working with these scholars for years to come and seeing how our understanding of entrepreneurship is improved through their research,” said Reedy.

More information about the Kauffman Junior Faculty Fellowship in Entrepreneurship Research can be found at http://www.kauffman.org/kjff.

About the Kauffman Foundation

The Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation is a private, nonpartisan foundation that aims to foster economic independence by advancing educational achievement and entrepreneurial success. Founded by late entrepreneur and philanthropist Ewing Marion Kauffman, the Foundation is based in Kansas City, Mo., and has approximately $2 billion in assets. For more information, visit http://www.kauffman.org.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Lacey Graverson
Kauffman Foundation
+1 (816) 932-1116
Email >

Barb Pruitt
Visit website