Cathi Shaw Has Released the Long Awaited Prequel to the Marked Ones Series, Journey to the Rift

Share Article

A dangerous quest into a forbidden land wasn't exactly what Brijit Carnesir was planning after her graduation from the Academy. Before long she finds herself in the wilds of Five Corners, fighting for her life.

Cathi Shaw (, author of the fantasy series The Marked Ones, is pleased to announce the release of the prequel to the original series, Journey to the Rift on November 3, 2016. This prequel takes the reader back to Brijit’s youth and reveals the originals of the Marked Ones and the Prophecy.

Shaw is thrilled with the reception of the prequel to the series. “Readers have been asking for more adventures from the world of the Marked Ones. The prequel is an important piece of the puzzle that makes up the series.”

The Marked Ones series is unique in the world of young adult fantasy because it chronicles the lives of several characters instead of focusing on just one individual. The prequel continues this tradition by letting the readers get to know the earlier generation of characters, ones who are integral to the original series. Readers and reviewers have appreciated the multiple stories interwoven around the mystery of the Mark.

“I can't wait to see what happens to these characters, what adventures they will go on next and how the prophecy will all play out.” – Shay Festa (The Bookie Monster)

Cathi Shaw has been a long time fan of young adult fiction. She taught Children’s Literature at Simon Fraser University in British Columbia and has a doctorate in Education. Her books are available for purchase online through Amazon, Barnes and Noble and Chapters Indigo.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Cathi Shaw
since: 10/2007
Follow >
The Marked Ones
since: 11/2013
Like >
Visit website