2016 Urban Design Awards Winners Announced by Greater Dallas Planning Council

Share Article

The Greater Dallas Planning Council's 2016 Urban Design Award winners will be honored this Tuesday, December 6, from 6:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. at the Latino Cultural Center.

The Greater Dallas Planning Council (GDPC) continues to recognize excellence in local urban planning and design through their yearly Urban Design Awards Reception. The 2016 winners will be honored this Tuesday, December 6, from 6:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. at the Latino Cultural Center. The Awards will highlight individuals, groups and communities for their contribution to making the region a better place to live. A jury comprising professionals in planning, engineering and architecture review the proposals and recommend those projects and individuals that merit special recognition. The 2016 Urban Design Award categories and winners are:

BUILT PROJECT AWARD - completed within the last five years and improves the character, sense of place and fabric of the community, and has, or has the potential to, catalyze positive change in the built environment

Winner: Garland City Center
Design/Firm/Parties of Interest: City of Garland; Oaks Properties, LLC; Consultant Team: VAI Architects; JHP architecture/urban design; David C. Baldwin Incorporated

Honorable Mention: Cedar Crest Bridge
Design/Firm/Parties of Interest: City of Dallas; Cedar Crest Neighborhood Association; Consultant Team: Halff Associates, Inc. with Bowman-Melton Associates, Inc., Baker Consulting Associates, Salcedo Group, Urban Engineers and Better Block

Honorable Mention: DART Blue Line
Design/Firm/Parties of Interest: Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART); City of Dallas, City of Dallas Parks and Recreation Department, Dallas Police Department and University of North Texas at Dallas; Consultant Team: URS Corporation; Blue Alliance Partners (BAP) a Joint Venture which includes HNTB Corporation and Dikita Enterprises, Inc.; South Oak Cliff Alliance (SOCA) a Joint Venture consisting of Archer Western Contractors, Phillips/May Corporation, and Robinson Industries; UNT Dallas Station Artist - Annette Lawrence; Camp Wisdom Station Artist - Anitra Blayton; Ledbetter Station Artist - Johnice Parker

Honorable Mention: Durham Neighborhood Park
Design/Firm/Parties of Interest: Owner: City of Richardson; Project Stakeholders and Drivers: Richardson Heights Neighborhood Association and Cottonwood Heights Neighborhood Association; Designer: Studio Outside

DREAM/UNBUILT PROJECT AWARD - exemplifies best practices in urban design and employs innovative strategies to improve the quality of place and quality of life in the community

Winner: Southwestern Medical District Urban Streetscape Master Plan
Design/Firm/Parties of Interest: Texas Trees Foundation (TTF); Southwestern Medical District (SWMD); Prime Consultant: Design Workshop; Sub-Consultant: Dahlberg Landscape Design Studio
Honorable Mention: Historic Preservation Task Force Report
Design/Firm/Parties of Interest: City of Dallas; Downtown Dallas Historic Preservation Task Force

Honorable Mention: CityMAP
Design/Firm/Parties of Interest: Owner: TxDOT; HNTB (Project Lead), Kimley Horn, Gateway Planning, Catalyst Commercial, EJES, OCGPR

Honorable Mention: Neighborhood Plus
Design/Firm/Parties of Interest: City of Dallas, Planning and Urban Design Department; Consultant Team: Fregonese Associates; Marquez Community Strategy

DUNNIGAN MEDIA AWARD - demonstrates excellence in reporting in any media on issues affecting quality growth of the region

Winner: Robert Wilonsky, digital managing editor at The Dallas Morning News

KESSLER AWARD - demonstrates a lasting and significant commitment along with sustained sensitivity to the urban environment

Winner: Frank Turner, Fellow of the Institute of Certified Planners (FAICP)

URBAN PIONEER AWARD - exemplifies risk-taking and innovation in the field

Winner: Jason Roberts

A brief annual member meeting will also take place to elect and welcome the 2017 GDPC Board of Directors and Officers, followed by a reception to honor the GDPC's winners and to salute some great design work in DFW.

The event is organized by a committee of volunteers and chaired by Brian Keith, Associate Principal at JHP Architecture / Urban Design. Mike Grace, Managing Principal, Metro Development Consulting, is vice chair.

Sponsors of the program include, Title Sponsor: HKS, Benefactors and Supporters: AECOM, Halff Associates, JHP Architecture / Urban Design, Lawton Reprographic Centers, AIA Dallas, Allison+Partners, Arredondo, Zepeda & Brunz, LLC, Bowman-Melton Associates, Inc., The College of Architecture, Planning and Public Affairs (CAPPA) at UTA , DRW Planning, DSGN Associates, Kimley-Horn and Associates, Inc., Oncor, PGAL, Ridley Law Firm, P.C., Robert Reeves & Associates, Inc., VAI Architects.

Media Contact:
PR Agency - Donna Hegdahl, donna(at)transsynergy(dot)com (972) 717-3500 Ext. 222

About GDPC
The Greater Dallas Planning Council (GDPC), founded in 1946, is the oldest Dallas area civic organization that focuses on issues shaping regional growth. The members of the GDPC address a range of issues from a broad range of community and professional perspectives. The GDPC's membership is comprised of a group of successful professionals from architect design firms, planning consultants, construction and engineering firms, developers, real estate industry leaders, community and civic organizations, corporations and municipal entities. The GDPC membership also includes elected or appointed officials. The GDPC members evaluate local and regional policies in order to promote the long-term sustainability of the City of Dallas and surrounding region. To find out more about GDPC visit http://www.gdpc.org.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Donna Hegdahl
The TransSynergy Group
+1 972-717-3500
Email >