ACMA Announces Change to Eligibility Requirements for the ACM™ Exam

Share Article

The American Case Management Association (ACMA), in partnership with the National Board for Case Management (NBCM), is pleased to announce a change to the Accredited Case Manager (ACM™) exam eligibility requirements.

News Image
The board is very pleased to announce the change to the ACM™ eligibility requirements. This change goes hand-in-hand with the maturity of Case Management as a profession.

The NBCM recently voted to update both the ACM-RN (Registered Nurse) and ACM-SW (Social Work) exam eligibility requirements, allowing applicants with at least one year of full-time, supervised work experience to take the exam. Previously, candidates were required to have two years of Case Management experience prior to sitting for the exam.

“The board is very pleased to announce the change to the ACM™ eligibility requirements,” said NBCM Board Chairman Chris Carpenter in a statement. “This change goes hand-in-hand with the maturity of Case Management as a profession. Many health care delivery employers provide particularly strong Case Management orientation and training programs accompanied with supervision. These programs are capable of preparing nurses and social workers for the exam after only a year of full-time Case Management experience.”

The ACM™ is the industry standard for Case Management professionals and promotes industry-wide competency standards through a uniform national certification exam. Credentialed individuals must successfully complete both a multiple-choice component and a discipline-specific simulation component. Visit to view the full list of eligibility requirements pertaining to candidate education and experience.

ACMA holds the position that “nurses and social workers with 36 months of health delivery system experience should have their Accredited Case Manager credential, ACM™, to practice Health Delivery System Case Management. ACM™ exam eligibility requires a minimum of twelve (12) months of Health System Case Management experience.”

According the 2015 National Case Management Survey, the only national source of 95% confidence-level hospital Case Management research, 66% of hospitals report that the ACM™ credential is influential in hiring decisions. Additionally, more than half (52%) of all hospitals prefer the ACM™ over all other case manager credentials, more than twice that of the next preferred credential.

For more information about the ACM™ certification, visit

About ACMA:
Founded in 1999, the American Case Management Association (ACMA) is a national, non-profit, professional membership association, which strives to provide resources, solutions and support for Case Management and Transitions of Care professionals. ACMA is comprised of almost 6,600 members nationwide, including nurses, social workers, physicians and other professionals affiliated with Case Management. Through a variety of educational conferences and networking events at both the local and national level, ACMA provides its members with numerous opportunities to develop skills, grow in their profession and learn from the experiences and practices of fellow members. For more information, visit

About NBCM:
Founded in 2005, the National Board for Case Management (NBCM) provides oversight for the ACM™ credentials. They are responsible for developing and approving certification content, testing and eligibility policies; conducting eligibility reviews; reviewing applicant certification appeals and rendering decisions; and recommending strategies or developments for the ACM™ Certification.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Christine Hinrichs
Follow >
American Case Management Association
since: 09/2010
Like >
Visit website