Dallas CIO Leadership Association Announces Recipients of 2018 CIO of the Year ORBIE Awards

Share Article

Executives from AT&T, Essilor, Torchmark Corporation, HealthMarkets & Children’s Health Recognized for their Achievements

The Dallas CIO Leadership Association (DallasCIO) announced the winners of its 2018 CIO of the Year® ORBIE® Awards. DallasCIO recognized chief information officers in six key categories – Leadership, Super Global, Global, Enterprise, Corporate and Nonprofit. The awards were presented at the Dallas CIO of the Year Awards at the Westin Galleria.

“The individuals who have earned these awards are the best and brightest leaders – not just within North Texas chief information officers, but in the categories they represent,” said Lisa LaRoque, Executive Director of DallasCIO. “In today’s interconnected world, organizations that win in the marketplace benefit from the superior strategic planning and day-to-day execution these CIOs bring to the table.”

The 2018 Dallas CIO of the Year ORBIE Award winners are:

›› Thaddeus Arroyo, CEO, AT&T Business, received the Leadership CIO of the Year ORBIE.
›› Pam Parisian, President of Technology Development, AT&T, received the Super Global ORBIE, for multi-national companies over $5 billion annual revenue and over 3,500 employees outside the U.S.
›› Greg Ericson, SVP & CIO, Essilor, received the Global ORBIE, for multi-national companies over $1.5 billion annual revenue and 1,000 employees outside the U.S.
›› James McPartland, EVP & CIO, Torchmark Corporation, received the Enterprise ORBIE, for organizations over $500 million annual revenue.
›› Scott Terrell, SVP & CIO, HealthMarkets, received the Corporate ORBIE, for organizations up to $500 million annual revenue.
›› Pamela Arora, SVP & CIO, Children’s Health, received the Nonprofit/Public Sector ORBIE, for public sector, government, healthcare, education and not-for-profit organizations.

The CIO of the Year ORBIE Awards is the premier technology executive recognition program in the United States. Since inception in 1998, over 500 CIOs have been honored as finalists and over 125 CIO of the Year winners have received the prestigious ORBIE Award. The Award honors chief information officers who have demonstrated excellence in technology leadership.

Finalists and winners are selected by an independent peer review process, led by prior ORBIE recipients, based upon:

›› The size and scope of responsibilities
›› Leadership and management effectiveness
›› Business value created by technology innovation
›› Engagement in industry and community endeavors

The CIO Awards ceremony was keynoted by James (Jim) Whitehurst, President & CEO of Red Hat. Jim shared his industry experience and insight on how digital transformation is changing the corporation. Nearly 700 guests attended, representing leading North Texas organizations and their technology partners.

The 2018 Dallas CIO of the Year Awards was made possible by the following sponsors:

›› Underwriters: Pariveda, Advocate, QTS Data Centers, Qentelli & Deloitte
›› Gold sponsors: Sendero Consulting, Red Hat & Dataspan
›› Silver sponsors: VMware, Carousel, Flexential, Splunk, Allata & HCL
›› Bronze sponsors: Systems Plus, Versitae, NTT Data, MapR, Critical Start, Visionet, Zyston, Connection, Stibo Systems, Alvarez & Marsal, Hunter Technical, Bottle Rocket, LAM Technology, AppDynamics, Maxsys Solutions, The Vested Group, Pinnacle Graphics & Between Pixels.
›› Media partner: The Dallas Business Journal

›› About the Dallas CIO Leadership Association
The Dallas CIO Leadership Association (DallasCIO) is the preeminent professional association for North Texas chief information officers. Our membership is comprised exclusively of CIOs (or equivalent executive roles) from public and private companies, government, education, healthcare and nonprofit organizations.
DallasCIO is led by a CIO Advisory Board which sets the annual program agenda for the association. Events are facilitated by a full-time Executive Director and professional staff. DallasCIO events are CIO-led and attended solely by CIO-level executives.

›› Achieve your leadership potential through DallasCIO: http://www.dallascio.org

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Carleigh Benscoter, Marketing

Lisa LaRoque, Executive Director
since: 02/2017
Follow >
Dallas CIO Leadership Association

Visit website