Chicago CIO Leadership Association Announces Recipients of 2018 CIO of the Year

Share Article

Executives from AbbVie Inc., Beam Suntory, Sidley Austin, Crowe Horwath and Cook County Government Recognized for Their Achievements

The Chicago CIO Leadership Association (ChicagoCIO) announced the winners of its 2018 CIO of the Year® ORBIE® Awards. ChicagoCIO recognized chief information officers in five key categories – Super Global, Global, Enterprise, Corporate and Nonprofit. The awards were presented at the Chicago CIO of the Year Awards at the Fairmont Hotel Millennium Park.

“The individuals who have earned these awards are the best and brightest leaders – not just within Chicagoland chief information officers, but in the categories they represent,” said Lisa LaRoque, Executive Director of ChicagoCIO. “In today’s interconnected world, organizations that win in the marketplace benefit from the superior strategic planning and day-to-day execution these CIOs bring to the table.”

The 2018 Chicago CIO of the Year ORBIE Award winners are:
Frank Modruson, former CIO, Accenture, Leadership Award
Michael Carlin, AbbVie Inc. in the Super Global category
Allison Radecki, Beam Suntory in the Global category
Vincent Marin, Sidley Austin, LLP in the Enterprise category
Yvonne Scott, Crowe Horwath, LLP in the Corporate category
Simona Rollinson, Cook County Government in the Nonprofit category

The CIO of the Year ORBIE Awards is the premier technology executive recognition program in the United States. Since inception in 1998, over 500 CIOs have been honored as finalists and over 125 CIO of the Year winners have received the prestigious ORBIE Award. The Award honors chief information officers who have demonstrated excellence in technology leadership.

Finalists and winners are selected by an independent peer review process, led by prior ORBIE recipients, based upon:

›› The size and scope of responsibilities
›› Leadership and management effectiveness
›› Business value created by technology innovation
›› Engagement in industry and community endeavors

The CIO Awards ceremony was keynoted by Linda Jojo, EVP & Chief Digital Officer at United Airlines. Linda shared her industry experience and insight on how digital transformation is changing the corporation. Nearly 450 guests attended, representing leading Chicagoland organizations and their technology partners.

The 2018 Chicago CIO of the Year Awards was made possible by the following sponsors:

›› Underwriters: TEKsystems, Russell Reynolds & Ensono
›› Gold sponsors: CenturyLink & NTT Data
›› Silver sponsors: Red Hat, Workday, Appian, VMware, Sogeti, MBI & 8th Light
›› Bronze sponsors: Daugherty, Penrod, Konica Minolta, Divihn, Kforce, EXL, SPR, Zerto, YJT Solutions, Capgemini, Accenture, IBM, Avalon Consulting, Amdocs & Wipro
›› Media sponsor: The Chicago INNO
›› About the Chicago CIO Leadership Association

The Chicago CIO Leadership Association (ChicagoCIO) is the preeminent professional association for Chicagoland chief information officers. Our membership is comprised exclusively of CIOs (or equivalent executive roles) from public and private companies, government, education, healthcare and nonprofit organizations.

ChicagoCIO is led by a CIO Advisory Board which sets the annual program agenda for the association. Events are facilitated by a full-time Executive Director and professional staff. ChicagoCIO events are CIO-led and attended solely by CIO-level executives.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Carleigh Benscoter
+1 (703) 919-5170
Email >

Lisa Laroque
Visit website