29th Annual NAACP Theatre Awards Announces Nominees, Winners

Share Article

Celebrating Black Excellence in Theatre

NAACP Beverly Hills/ Hollywood Branch logo

“We remain committed to highlighting and honoring diversity in the arts and look forward to awarding our winners during a private luncheon this Spring,” says President Ron Hasson.

The NAACP Beverly Hills/Hollywood Branch Theatre Viewing Committee delightfully announces both the nominees and winners of the 29th Annual NAACP Theatre Awards. The list showcases an entertaining roster of both legendary and future award-winning thespians.

With 10 nominations each, Disney’s “Beauty and the Beast, The Broadway Musical” and “Ain’t Too Proud-The Life and Times of the Temptations”, rival each other for the most nominations received. The enchanting story of Disney’s “Beauty and the Beast, The Broadway Musical” (99-seat theatre), transports us back in time through its familiar music and infectious dance routines. It is no surprise that it received nominations for Best Music Director and Best Choreography. “Ain’t Too Proud-The Life and Times of the Temptations” (large theatre), tells the electrifying story of The Temptations and has been nominated in top categories for their performance, including Best Ensemble Cast, Best Music Director and Best Playwright. Also nominated for their work in this production are several Tony Award winners, including Sergio Trujillo for Best Choreography, Ira Pittelman and Tom Hulce for Best Producer, Steve Canyon Kennedy for Best Sound, Howell Binkley for Best Lighting and Paul Tazewell for Best Costumes.

Following closely behind with nine nominations, “Skeleton Crew”, brings to life the human struggles of blue-collar workers living in Detroit during the Great Recession. The Helen Hayes award winner Caroline Stefanie Clay, and “Grey’s Anatomy” actress Kelly McCreary, both hold nominations for Best Lead Female (large theatre). Seasoned actors DB Woodside and actor Amari Cheatom join them for Best Lead Male for their performance.

With the wonderfully familiar title, “The Color Purple-The Musical”, we are thrilled to see this beautiful story of triumph brought to both the large and small stage. “The Color Purple-The Musical” has received five nominations for its performance in a large theatre, including nominations for Tony Award and Pulitzer Prize winner Marsha Norman for Best Playwright and Tony Award winner Ann Hould-Ward for Best Costumes. In the 99-seat theatre, “The Color Purple-The Musical” has received seven nominations including Best Ensemble Cast and Best Music Director.

Multiple NAACP Image Award winner Debbi Morgan receives three nominations for her inspiring work in “The Monkey on My Back”. In this small theatre production, Debbi taps into the personal stories of her life, bringing forth the intimate details of three generations of women. Her nominations include, Best One Person Show, Best Playwright and Best Producer. Tony Award Winner Tom Eyen is nominated for Best Playwright as well for his masterful work in the creation of “Dreamgirls” (99-seat theatre). “Pound Cake”, “A Raisin in the Sun” and “Her Portmanteau” all tie with three nominations, each bringing stories of family, oppression and overcoming limitations (99-seat theatre).

Speaking of Tony Award winners, the ever-inspiring Sarah Jones, has been nominated for Best One-Person Show (large theatre), debuting her performance of “Sell/Buy/Dates”, which depicts the real-life stories of those who have been involved and affected by the sex industry. Joining her are fellow Tony Award winners Linda Woolverton for Best Playwright (99-seat theatre) for her work in Disney’s “Beauty and the Beast, the Broadway Musical” and Paloma Young for Best Costumes (large theatre) for her designs in “The Squirrels”.

“We remain committed to highlighting and honoring diversity in the arts and look forward to awarding our winners during a private luncheon this Spring,” says President Ron Hasson.

The NAACP Theatre Viewing Committee considers all candidates who submit their productions from January 2018 through December 15, 2018, for possible nomination. All productions must run for at least six (6) full performances in Southern California (San Diego to Bakersfield included). Previews, invited dress rehearsals, and other similar showings do not count towards eligibility. Eligibility for this year’s edition was limited to theatre productions opening in January 2018 through December 2018. Productions who meet all eligibility requirements before the deadline are considered eligible for a 2018 NAACP Theatre Award.

For more information on the NAACP Theatre Awards, please visit http://www.naacptheatreawards.com or email: media@premierconceptspr.com.

About the NAACP Theatre Awards
The NAACP Theatre Awards is presented by the Beverly Hills/Hollywood NAACP Branch in partnership with the City of Los Angeles and Los Angeles City Council President Emeritus Herb Wesson Jr. The mission of the Theatre Awards is to entertain, educate, inspire the community and create diversity in the arts and entertainment industry.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Lisa Humphrey
Premier Concepts
+1 310.293.4154
Email >
Follow us on
Visit website