American College of Tax Counsel Elects New Fellows, Officers, and Regents

Share Article

The American College of Tax Counsel congratulates its new Fellows as well as its new and continuing Regents and Officers.

At a meeting held on January 31, 2020, the Board of Regents of the American College of Tax Counsel elected a new slate of officers to serve the College commencing March 1, 2020.

The College also elected the following 14 new Fellows into its ranks:

Anson H. Asbury, Asbury Law Firm, Decatur, GA; Elizabeth J. Atkinson, Whiteford Taylor Preston LLP, Richmond, VA; Neil Barr, Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP, New York, NY; James W. Dawson, Jr., Miles & Stockbridge, P.C., Baltimore, MD, Michael A. Guariglia, McCarter & English, LLP, Newark, NJ; Shu-Yi Oei, Boston College Law School, Newton, MA; John W. Porter, Baker Botts LLP, Houston, TX; Adria S. Price, Price & Associates, LLC, Santa Claus, IN; Michel R. Stein, Hochman Salkin Toscher Perez, P.C., Beverly Hills, CA; Krishna Vallabhaneni, U. S. Department of the Treasury, Office of Tax Policy, Washington, DC: Michael A. Villa, Jr., Meadows, Collier, Reed, Cousins, Crouch & Ungerman, LLP, Dallas, TX; Steven L. Walker, Law Offices of Steven L. Walker, PLC, San Jose, CA; Mary L. Wood, Meadows, Collier, Reed, Cousins, Crouch & Ungerman LLP, Dallas, TX; and Brett York, U. S. Department of the Treasury, Office of Tax Policy, Washington, DC.

The College previously welcomed the following 12 new Fellows into its ranks at its October 4, 2019 meeting:

Sahel A. Assar, Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney PC, Washington, DC; Edward J. “Ted” Bernert, Baker & Hostetler LLP, Columbus, OH; Michael J. Feder, Wellington Management Group, LLC, Boston, MA; Elliot G. Freier, Irell & Manella LLP, Los Angeles, CA; Milton B. Hyman, Irell & Manella LLP, Los Angeles, CA; David L. Keligian, Brown & Streza LLP, Irvine, CA; Kathleen J. Lach, Saul Ewing Arnstein & Lehr LLP, Chicago, IL; Eileen Marshall, Cooley, LLP, Washington, DC; Annette Nellen, San Jose State University, San Jose, CA; Lisa E. Perkins, Green & Sklarz, LLC, New Haven, CT; Doug Sigel, Ryan Law Firm, LLC, Austin, TX, and Shelby L. Wilson, Green & Sklarz, LLC, New Haven, CT.

New Regents and Officers Elected

Newly elected Regents of the College include Janette M. Lohman, Thompson Coburn LLP, St. Louis, MO, and Lisa M. Zarlenga, Steptoe & Johnson LLP, Washington, DC.

Current Regents re-elected for a second term include Jonathan B. Forman, The University of Oklahoma College of Law, Norman, OK; Robb A. Longman, Longman & Van Grack, LLC, Bethesda, MD; Scott D. Michel, Caplin & Drysdale, Chartered, Washington, DC; and W. Robert Pope, Jr., Pope Law, PLLC, Nashville, TN.

Continuing Regents include Alice G. Abreu, Temple University Beasley School of Law, Philadelphia, PA; Frank Agostino, Agostino & Associates, P.C., Hackensack, NJ; John P. Barrie, Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner LLP, New York, NY; Larry A. Campagna, Chamberlain, Hrdlicka, White, Williams & Aughtry, P.C., Houston, TX; Julie A. Divola, Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP, San Francisco, CA; Jenny L. Johnson Ware, Johnson Moore LLC, Chicago, IL; Stephen R. Looney, Dean, Mead, Egerton, Bloodworth, Capouano & Bozarth, P.A., Orlando, FL; Ameek A. Ponda, Sullivan & Worcester LLP, Boston, MA, and Bahar A. Schippel, Snell & Wilmer, LLP, Phoenix, AZ.

The newly-elected Officers of the College are Peter J. Connors, Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe, LLP, New York, NY, President; Caroline D. Ciraolo, Kostelanetz & Fink, LLP, Washington, DC, Vice President; and Armando Gomez, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP, Washington, DC, Secretary-Treasurer. C. Wells Hall III, Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough LLP, Charlotte, NC, will continue as a member of the Board of Regents in his capacity as Past President of the College.

The College congratulates its new Fellows as well as its new and continuing Regents and Officers.

About the American College of Tax Counsel

The American College of Tax Counsel is a professional association of tax attorneys composed of tax lawyers in private practice along with those teaching tax law in law schools and those working in federal or state revenue agencies. Members of the College, known as Fellows, are elected to membership after receiving a peer nomination and successfully passing an evaluation of their candidacy. The College is currently comprised of approximately 700 Fellows. The College is governed by a 19-member Board of Regents, including the four members of the Executive Committee and one Regent elected from each federal judicial circuit, along with two Regents serving at-large. The College fulfills important functions regarding the nation’s tax system by providing recommendations to Congress and the IRS on improving federal tax laws and administration and by filing “friend of the court” briefs in selected tax cases.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Pamela Lyons

by NextClient Staff Writer
Visit website