Annual Meeting of the American College of Tax Counsel Held in January in New Orleans

Share Article

Twelve new Fellows were elected to the American College of Tax Counsel at its annual meeting in January. Additionally, the College elected four members to positions on the Board of Regents, and several officers were re-elected to additional one-year terms.

The American College of Tax Counsel announces that the Annual Meeting of the American College of Tax Counsel was held on January 18 and 19 in New Orleans. Actions taken at the meeting including the election of 12 new Fellows into the College’s ranks, the election of four new members to the Board of Regents, and election of officers.

The new Fellows elected to the College at its Annual Meeting are: Bryon Christensen, Associate General Counsel, Tax, Microsoft Corporation, Redmond, Washington; Thomas Cook of Wyrick Robbins Yates & Ponton in Raleigh, North Carolina; Katherine David of Clark Hill PLLC in San Antonio, Texas; Cathy Fung of the Office of Chief Counsel (Large Business & International), Internal Revenue Service, Washington, DC; Abbey Garber of Thompson & Knight LLP in Dallas, Texas; Mark Holcomb of Dean Mead in Tallahassee, Florida; Susan Morgenstern of the Taxpayer Advocate Service, Internal Revenue Service, Cleveland, Ohio; Sara Neill of Capes, Sokol, Goodman & Sarachan, P.C. in St. Louis, Missouri; Edwin Oswald of Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP in Washington, DC; Alexander Reid of Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP in Washington, DC; Kristan Rizzolo of Eversheds Sutherland LLP in Washington, DC; and Jay Singer of McDermott Will & Emery LLP in Washington, DC.

New Regents Elected, Officers Re-Elected

A 19-member Board of Regents serves as the governing body for the College. The Board includes one regent elected from each of the 13 federal judicial circuits, plus two regents filling at-large positions. The four officers making up the Executive Committee also serve on the Board. New regents elected at the January meeting included: Ameek Ponda of Sullivan & Worcester LLP in Boston, Massachusetts (1st Circuit Regent), and Jenny Johnson Ware of Johnson Moore LLC in Chicago, Illinois (7th Circuit Regent), both of whom were elected for three-year terms commencing March 1, 2019. Also, Robb Longman of Longman & Van Grack LLC in Bethesda, Maryland was elected to complete a term ending February 28, 2020 for the 4th Circuit position, and Professor Alice Abreu of Temple University Beasley School of Law in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania was elected to complete an At Large term ending February 28, 2021.

Officers who were re-elected to serve one-year terms in the positions they presently hold are C. Wells Hall III (President) of Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough LLP in Charlotte, North Carolina; Peter J. Connors (Vice President) of Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP in New York, New York; and Caroline D. Ciraolo (Secretary/Treasurer) of Kostelanetz & Fink LLP of Washington, DC.

The College wishes to extend a warm welcome to its new fellows and also congratulates its newly-elected Regents and Officers.

About the American College of Tax Counsel

The American College of Tax Counsel is a professional association of tax attorneys which includes tax lawyers working in private practice as well as individuals teaching tax law in law school or working for state or federal revenue agencies. The College provides opportunities for its members to exchange ideas on tax policy among its membership and to the broader community through public conferences, lectures and the publication of scholarly articles. Additionally, the College provides input to Congress and the Internal Revenue Service regarding the administration of the nation’s tax laws, as well as to the courts by filing “friend of the court” amicus briefs in selected tax cases.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Pamela Lyons

by NextClient Staff Writer
Visit website