ArizonaCIO Announces Recipients of 2020 CIO of the Year ORBIE Awards

Share Article

Executives from Freeport-McMoRan, Avnet Inc, PetSmart, ICE – International Cruise & Excursions & Terros Health Recognized for their Achievements

ArizonaCIO announced the winners of its 2020 CIO of the Year® ORBIE® Awards. ArizonaCIO recognized chief information officers in five key categories – Leadership, Global, Enterprise, Corporate and Nonprofit/Public Sector. The Awards were presented virtually at the Arizona CIO of the Year Awards.

“The ArizonaCIO ORBIE winners demonstrate the value great leadership creates. Especially in these uncertain times, CIOs are leading in unprecedented ways and enabling the largest work-from-home experiment in history,” according to Monique Cook, Executive Director of ArizonaCIO. “The ORBIE Awards are meaningful because they are judged by peers - CIOs who understand how difficult this job is and why great leadership matters.”

The 2020 Arizona CIO of the Year ORBIE Award winners are:

›› Bert Odinet, VP, CIO & Chief Innovation Officer, Freeport-McMoRan, received the Leadership CIO of the Year ORBIE.

›› Max Chan, CIO, Avnet Inc, received the Global ORBIE for organizations over $2.5 billion annual revenue & multi-national operations.

›› Michael Goodwin, SVP & CIO, PetSmart, received the Enterprise ORBIE for organizations over $500 million annual revenue.

›› Kris Singleton, SVP & CIO, ICE- International Cruise & Excursions, received the Corporate ORBIE for organizations up to $500 million annual revenue.

›› Saffron Wanger, CIO & Chief Innovation Officer, Terros Health, received the Nonprofit/Public Sector ORBIE for government, healthcare & education organizations.

The CIO of the Year ORBIE Awards is the premier technology executive recognition program in the United States. Since inception in 1998, over 1,000 CIOs have been honored as finalists and over 225 CIO of the Year winners have received the prestigious ORBIE Award. The ORBIE honors chief information officers who have demonstrated excellence in technology leadership. Finalists and winners are selected by an independent peer review process, led by prior ORBIE recipients, based upon:

›› Leadership and management effectiveness
›› Business value created by technology innovation
›› Engagement in industry and community endeavors

The CIO Awards ceremony was keynoted by Ken Lamneck, CEO & President of Insight. Over 250 guests attended, representing leading Arizona organizations and their technology partners.

The 2020 Arizona CIO of the Year Awards was made possible by the following sponsors:

›› Underwriters: CenturyLink, Expedient & Allata

›› Gold sponsors: Insight

›› Silver sponsors: Flexential, Cox Business, Snowflake, Emtec, Delphix, Zscaler & ServiceNow

›› Bronze sponsors: Splunk, World Wide Technologies, Salesforce, Dell Technologies, vCore, EnterWorks, Maxis Group & Between Pixels

›› Media partner: The Phoenix Business Journal

›› About the ArizonaCIO

ArizonaCIO is the preeminent peer leadership network of Arizona chief information officers. ArizonaCIO is one of 17 chapters of the InspireCIO Leadership Network, a national membership organization comprised exclusively of CIOs from public and private businesses, government, education, healthcare and nonprofit institutions.

ArizonaCIO is led by a CIO Advisory Board, supported by an executive director and staff. Underwriter executives ensure programs remain non-commercial and exclusive to qualified CIOs and members.

›› Achieve your leadership potential through ArizonaCIO:

›› Stay connected with ArizonaCIO at:

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Lexi Ballard
+1 404-213-5461
Email >

Monique Cook
since: 02/2017
Follow >
Visit website