Finalists Named for the Inaugural National CIO of the Year ORBIE Awards

Share Article

InspireCIO has announced the finalists for its 2021 National CIO of the Year® ORBIE® Awards. The National ORBIE Awards honors chief information officers who have demonstrated excellence in technology leadership.

For over 20 years, the CIO of the Year® ORBIE® Awards have recognized technology executives for outstanding leadership and the business value created by technology innovation. Now for the first time ever, ORBIE winners from the InspireCIO Leadership Network chapters across the US are competing in the National CIO of the Year ORBIE Awards.

The 2021 National CIO of the Year ORBIE Awards finalists are:

›› Super Global Finalists – includes CIOs for organizations over $16 billion annual revenue & multi-national operations:
Mona Bates, VP Digital Technology & CIO, Raytheon Technologies – Missiles & Defense
Mamatha Chamarthi, CIO, Stellantis
Max Chan, CIO, Avnet Inc
Seemantini Godbole, EVP & CIO, Lowe’s
Steve Hagood, SVP & CIO, Trane Technologies
Jennifer Hartsock, CIO, Baker Hughes

›› Global Finalists – includes CIOs for organizations over $2 billion annual revenue & multi-national operations:
Beth Boucher, SVP & CIO, SiriusPoint
Scott Crowder, SVP & CIO, BMC Software
Dave Duvall, CIO – Global Corporate Operations, Discovery, Inc.
Donie Lochan, CTO, Invesco
Adhir Mattu, VP & CIO, Marvell Semiconductor, Inc.
Barry Shurkey, SVP & CIO, NTT Data Services

›› Large Enterprise Finalists – includes CIOs for organizations over $1.5 billion annual revenue:
Darrell Fernandes, SMD & Head of Product Technology, TIAA
Michael Goodwin, SVP & CIO, PetSmart
Kristie Grinnell, Global CIO, VP IT & SCM, GDIT
Steve Mills, Global CIO, iHeartMedia
Christer Peltomaa, SVP & CIO, Comcast Business
Jacob Sorensen, EVP & CIO, Bank of the West

›› Enterprise Finalists – includes CIOs for organizations over $1.5 billion annual revenue:
Paul Algreen, CIO, Janus Henderson
Sumit Anand, Chief Strategy Officer & CIO, At Home
John Hill, CIO & SVP, Business Planning, Carhartt
Michael Mathews, SVP & CIO, Deluxe
Todd Renaud, CIO, Conn’s HomePlus
Ashok Vantipalli, CIO, TireHub

›› Large Corporate Finalists – includes CIOs for organizations over $1 billion annual revenue:
Matt Bieri, EVP & CIO, Tyler Technologies
James Chilton, CIO, Cengage Learning
Bernie Gracy, CDO, Agero
Dawn KirchnerKing, VP & CIO, Armstrong World Industries
Michael Salas, SVP, Chief Information & Digital Officer, SUEZ
Usman Waheed, Chief Information & Technology Officer, Knoll

›› Corporate Finalists – includes CIOs for organizations up to $1 billion annual revenue:
Andrew Brock, EVP & CIO, Associa; CEO, Associa Digital Services
Dave Hoag, CIO, OCC
Joan Kuehl, EVP & CIO, Elevate Credit, Inc.
Pramesh Naik, CIO, Troutman Pepper
Wendy Pfeiffer, SVP & CIO, Nutanix, Inc.
Jason White, EVP & CIO, Berkshire Bank

›› Nonprofit/Public Sector Finalists – includes CIOs of government, education & nonprofit organizations:
Kevin Boyd, CIO, University of Chicago
Tanya Hannah, CIO, King County Department of Information Technology
Ravi Pendse, VP for IT & CIO, University of Michigan
Len Peters, VP – Global CIO & Chief HIPAA Security Officer, NYU
Bob Solis, CIO, MIT Lincoln Laboratory
Tarek Tomes, Commissioner of Minnesota IT Services & CIO, Minnesota IT Services

›› Healthcare Finalists – includes CIOs of hospitals & healthcare organizations:
Matt Chambers, CIO, Baylor, Scott and White Health
Lisa Dykstra, SVP & CIO, Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago
Tom Gordon, SVP & CIO, Virtua Health
Mike Larson, SVP & CIO, Agiliti Health, Inc.
Craig Richardville, SVP, Chief Information & Digital Officer, SCL Health
Rusty Yeager, SVP & CIO, Encompass Health

Finalists and winners are selected by an independent peer review process, led by prior ORBIE recipients, based upon:
›› Leadership and management effectiveness
›› Business value created by technology innovation
›› Engagement in industry and community endeavors

The 2021 National ORBIE Awards are made possible by the following sponsors:
›› Gold sponsors: SADA, Fortinet, Zscaler, & Zoom
›› Silver sponsors: MavenWave
›› Bronze sponsors: Amdocs, Ballast Services, iVision, ReCode Solutions, AWS, Accenture, Qualys, Nutanix, Impact Advisors & Between Pixels

The winners will be announced live on July 22, 2021 during the virtual National ORBIE Awards, hosted by the National ORBIE Awards Chair, Jay Ferro, Global CIO of ERT. Jay says, “CIO leadership superpowers come from having a strong professional network – not just among leading CIOs in your community – but knowing CIOs everywhere.”

›› About InspireCIO
InspireCIO is the preeminent peer leadership network of chief information officers. The InspireCIO Leadership Network is a national membership organization comprised exclusively of CIOs from public and private businesses, government, education, healthcare and nonprofit institutions.

Each of the 21 chapters within InspireCIO is led by a CIO Advisory Board, supported by an executive director and staff. Underwriter executives ensure programs remain non-commercial and exclusive to qualified CIOs and members.

›› Achieve your leadership potential through InspireCIO:

›› Stay connected with InspireCIO at:

›› Browse over 20 years of ORBIE finalists & winners at:

To support the National ORBIE Awards and become a sponsor, please contact Bradley Hudson at

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Lexi Ballard
since: 02/2017
Follow >
Visit website