PIP coverage is confusing and, unfortunately, many Floridians do not recover the compensation they deserve for their injuries because the claims process is complex.
CLEARWATER, Fla. (PRWEB) October 16, 2018
The state of Florida requires that all vehicle owners have Personal Injury Protection (PIP) as part of their automobile insurance policies, with a coverage amount of $10,000. This mandatory insurance coverage provides compensation for medical expenses that are incurred as the result of a car accident.
“Florida’s Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance is “no-fault” coverage for medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages,” explained personal injury attorney Paul A. Meissner, Jr., co-founder of Carlson, Meissner, Hart & Hayslett, P.A. “Coverage is provided for those that were injured in a car accident regardless of who was at fault for the accident.”
Personal Injury Protection insurance protects the policyholder and their children when they have been injured in an accident that occurred in the policyholder’s automobile. PIP also provides coverage for household members and those passengers in the vehicle that do not own a car and do not have their own PIP insurance.
“Drivers may not realize that PIP also protects the policyholder when they are a passenger in another person’s car, and it also covers your child if they suffer an injury while riding on a school bus,” continued Attorney Meissner. “Personal injury protection provides coverage if the policyholder is biking and is injured in a car accident, or if they are a pedestrian who is injured in an accident with a motor vehicle. PIP coverage is confusing and, unfortunately, many Floridians do not recover the compensation they deserve for their injuries because the claims process is complex.”
In 2012, Florida passed a PIP reform bill that requires that accident victims obtain treatment within 14 days in an ambulance or hospital, or from a physician, chiropractic physician, osteopathic physician, or dentist. The full $10,000 medical benefit from PIP is only available if the medical professional determines that the injured has an “emergency medical condition”; if the injury is not recognized by the medical professional as an “emergency medical condition”, then the PIP medical benefit is reduced to $2,500. Any follow-up medical services and care require a referral from a physician, osteopath, chiropractor, or dentist.
For more information concerning Florida’s Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance, your rights if you have been involved in a car accident, and the personal injury claims process, contact the personal injury attorneys at Carlson, Meissner, Hart & Hayslett P.A. Located in Clearwater, Florida, the law office of Carlson, Meissner, Hart & Hayslett P.A. has been serving the Tampa Bay area community for over 46 years. Innovative practice and proven litigation skills make the firm Tampa Bay’s premier legal team, with a proven track record of success and a reputation for excellence. For more information about Carlson, Meissner, Hart & Hayslett P.A., visit the firm website at CarlsonMeissner.com or contact the office directly at 877-728-9653.