BALLYGLUNIN, Ireland (PRWEB) March 05, 2020
After an extensive three-year restoration, the vast historical property known as Ballyglunin Park has re-opened its doors as a luxury, self-catering, vacation rental property.
Ballyglunin Park dates to the 1640’s when Martin Blake, high sheriff of Galway, was granted the lands by Charles II. The Blakes’ original estate consisted of 10,500 acres; today Ballyglunin Park consists of 33 acres of parkland, walled gardens, and ancient forests. Historic red Victorian gates flank the entrance to the estate where a pleasant sweeping tree lined avenue ambles along, over a bridge, and up to the gravel forecourt at the front of the house. The river Abbert flows through the middle of the estate and includes a historic weir from the 1800's that is still in use today. Twice a year salmon and trout make their way up the river and can be seen jumping the dam on their way upstream. The grounds also comprise picturesque woodlands and a park.
The Manor House at Ballyglunin Park is a combination of Georgian and Victorian architecture with features dating back to the 17th century. For the restoration and conservation, the owners employed Catherine O’Brien of Red Church Architects who specializes in conservation of historic structures. Extensive efforts were made to restore the Georgian and Victorian Wings of the house with period authenticity while fully modernizing the House with updated electrical, plumbing, safety systems, and conveniences such as fiber optic WiFi/broadband, and room-by-room temperature controls.
The focal point of the ground floor, with its 14-foot ceilings, is the 10-foot high stained-glass window that sits halfway up the wood carved staircase. Original parquet floors, ornate ceiling plasterwork and cornices, large windows, Victorian porch tiles, paneled doors with decorative architrave surrounds and magnificent marble fireplaces can also be found in the ground floor reception and sitting rooms
The House features a fully restored elegant Drawing Room, Kitchen with teak counter tops and casual dining, a large Formal Dining Room, Study, Oval Sitting Room and a Games Room. On the first-floor upper level bedrooms, the owners were surprised during restoration when the contractor uncovered the original vaulted ceilings with beautifully ornate plaster-work intact. These seven bedrooms and six en-suite baths have been fully restored and modernized. Also extensively renovated is the Victorian era tower which now features an airy, light filled Sitting Room on the Ground Floor with direct access to the river and gardens, and a large circular Bedroom and en-suite with panoramic views of the property on the First Floor.
During construction of the Victorian wing in the 1830s the Blakes added several castle-like additions including a 3-story round tower, extensive 12-foot high stone walls throughout the property with several moats on the exterior of these walls. These castle inspired additions were commonly done by wealthy landowners during this period. Throughout the property can be found stone artifacts from as far back as 1200.
Just down the road from the estate is the the Ballyglunin Railway Station which was once part of the Ballyglunin Park estate. The station was famously used during the filming of The Quiet Man, starring John Wayne and Maureen O’Hara, in 1951. The train station is in the process of being restored as a heritage project and community resource center with genealogical services. Families from around the world can come to Ballyglunin to enjoy a historic Irish Manor house and experience the tranquil nature of Ireland's countryside.
For inquiries, please contact: