Innovator in Youth Transportation, HopSkipDrive, Announces New Safety Advisory Board

Share Article

Industry leaders to guide best youth transportation safety practices.

HopSkipDrive, the safe and innovative transportation solution for schools and families, today announced the launch of the HopSkipDrive Safety Advisory Board. Comprised of industry leaders in the youth transportation space, this committee will be a strategic addition as HopSkipDrive continues to advance its safety leadership.

The Safety Advisory Board will support HopSkipDrive with guidance and recommendations on policies, processes and technology as HopSkipDrive innovates on safety and launches new safety features for HopSkipDrive riders, CareDrivers and motorists at large.

HopSkipDrive CEO Joanna McFarland says, “Safety is the biggest priority in our business and is firmly entrenched in everything we do, from how we vet CareDrivers to how we safely monitor rides in real time. The Safety Advisory Board is key to our mission, and I’m excited to bring together such experienced transportation and safety leaders. I look forward to productive dialogue and actionable results.”

Board Member Denis Gallagher, former Chairman and CEO for Student Transportation of America, says, “As someone who has dedicated my career to safe student transportation, I am honored to join the HopSkipDrive Safety Advisory Board and work with such accomplished peers. We can’t wait to start collaborating on new, transformative safety initiatives.”

HopSkipDrive welcomes the following Board members:

Denis J. Gallagher
Former Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, Student Transportation of America
Denis Gallagher has over 43 years of experience as a respected entrepreneur and leader in the passenger transportation industry. He established Student Transportation of America in 1997, making his the third generation in his family to found and lead a transportation company. Under his enduring leadership, STA grew into the 3rd largest U.S.-based school bus company with more than 16,000 vehicles in its fleet. Denis Gallagher also serves on the Board of Directors of HopSkipDrive.

Steve A. Simmons III
President-Elect, National Association of Pupil Transportation
Before joining the National Association of Pupil Transportation, Steve Simmons served as Director of Transportation for Columbus City Schools, where he cultivated a reputation among his peers as a safety-focused leader. During his 11-year tenure as Director, he repeatedly implemented new technology to make buses safer, such as installing GPS hardware and cameras on every bus in his fleet.

Lisa Robinson
Senior Program Manager, National Safety Council
In her role with the National Safety Council, Lisa Robinson is the subject matter expert in the area of Safety on the Road, working with public and private organizations to address preventable motor vehicle crashes. She is also an experienced public speaker with more than 20 years of expertise in successfully addressing behavior change.

Torine Creppy
President, Safe Kids Worldwide
Torine Creppy is the president of Safe Kids Worldwide, a global nonprofit dedicated to protecting kids from preventable injuries. For more than 20 years, Ms. Creppy has worked with funders, legislators and community leaders around the world to develop and implement strategic initiatives, create meaningful partnerships and change behavior. Under her leadership, the Safe Kids Buckle Up® program has evolved into the most comprehensive child passenger safety program in the world and the Safe Kids Walk this Way® pedestrian safety program has reached more that 17 million children in 10 countries. She led a blue-ribbon panel and convened a consortium to ensure children are considered as autonomous vehicles are being developed. She is a passionate advocate on the Hill and in the media on vehicular heatstroke prevention. Ms. Creppy is a member of the American Public Health Association, the National Urban League, NAACP, the National Head Start Association and Leadership Greater Washington.

Diana Hollander
Retiring Director of Transportation, Nevada Department of Education
In her role at the Nevada Department of Education, Diana Hollander has supported school districts for 24 years, helping transportation teams navigate complex federal, state, and local regulations to get students to school safely and on time. She served on the Nevada Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Board and the Nevada Executive Committee on Traffic Safety where she promoted student safety in all modes of transportation. She won the Peter J. Grandolfo Award in Excellence in 2019. A fierce champion for women in student transportation leadership roles, she is also a past president of the National Association of State Directors of Pupil Transportation Services (NASDPTS).

Learn more about HopSkipDrive’s commitment to safety by visiting Schools can learn how to partner with HopSkipDrive by emailing

Connect with HopSkipDrive on Twitter, Facebook and LinkedIn.

About HopSkipDrive

Designed by protective moms, driven by caregivers, and trusted by schools coast-to-coast, HopSkipDrive is the innovator in providing safe, dependable youth transportation for schools, districts, non-profits, government agencies, and families. HopSkipDrive’s advanced technology platform and industry-leading operational expertise provide flexibility and visibility, while helping kids reach their full potential.

Since 2014, HopSkipDrive has expanded to seven states and 12 major markets, partnered with more than 170 schools and districts and driven more than 1 million trips to schools.

HopSkipDrive is a venture capital-backed company, raising $27 million to date. HopSkipDrive shares investors with household brands such as Airbnb, Pinterest, Bird and Ring.

Press Contact
Aylin Cook

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Aylin Cook
+1 805-798-1714
Email >
since: 06/2014
Follow >
Like >
Visit website