IRS extends deadline for 2021 Taxpayer Advocacy Panel applications, adds new members for the 2020 panel

Share Article

Individuals may now submit applications through April 20, 2020.

The IRS has extended the deadline for members of the public to apply for membership on the Taxpayer Advocacy Panel for 2021. Individuals may submit a TAP application online at through April 20, 2020.

Please consider this opportunity to make a difference in how the IRS delivers products and services. A video is available with information about the TAP and how volunteers can contribute to this dynamic group.

New members for 2020

The Internal Revenue Service recommended, and the Department of the Treasury has approved, the selection of 33 new members to serve on the TAP for 2020.

The new TAP members will join 32 returning members to round out the panel of 65 volunteers for 2020. The new members were selected from a pool of more than 300 interested individuals who applied during an open recruitment period last spring and alternate members who applied in prior years.

The TAP is a federal advisory committee charged with listening to taxpayers, identifying issues, and making suggestions to improve IRS service and customer satisfaction. Oversight and program support for the TAP are provided by the Taxpayer Advocate Service, an independent organization within the IRS that helps resolve taxpayer problems and makes administrative and legislative recommendations to mitigate systemic problems.

Members of the TAP work on a variety of issues that impact taxpayers in the key areas where the IRS and the public interact the most. Members also serve as a conduit for bringing grassroots concerns raised by the taxpaying public to the attention of the IRS.

TAP members are U.S. citizens who volunteer to serve a three-year appointment and are expected to devote 200 to 300 hours per year to panel activities. To the extent possible, TAP members are demographically and geographically diverse, providing balanced representation from all 50 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico. In addition, there is one TAP member from abroad who represents the interests of taxpayers working, living, or doing business abroad or in a U.S. territory.

The new TAP members by location:

James Sharmat - Santa Monica, CA
Sandy Villella - Wildomar, CA
Cynthia Torres - Riverside, CA
Martha Lewis - Colorado Springs, CO
Barbara Snowden - West Haven, CT
Alexas Pickron - Townsend, DE
Joseph Magyar - Tampa, FL
Charles Jones - Green Cove Springs, FL
Nina Tross - Apollo Beach, FL
Ying Sa - Des Moines, IA
Hercules Iraklis Analitis - Urbana, IL
Jordan Bayles - Terre Haute, IN
Paula King - Lexington, KY
Kimberly Shepherd - Monroe, LA
Dorothy Havey - Lincolnville, ME
Jocelyn Gutowski - Saint Robert, MO
Jessica Wilson - Byram, MS
Jim Buttonow - Summerfield, NC
Edward Donovan - Holly Springs, NC
Cedric Obiaka - Omaha, NE
Kenneth Lewis - New York City, NY
T Renee Parker - Brentwood, NY
Patrice Brown - Brooklyn, NY
Thomas Kerr - Amherst, NY
Laurie Brock - Eugene, OR
Lindsey Funair - Du Bois, PA
Michael Avery - San Juan, PR
Brandon Ruest - North Providence, RI
Leigh Ann Wood - Columbia, SC
Joseph Edelen - Vermillion, SD
Marlon Bell - Pearland, TX
Cassandra Knight-Paige - Houston, TX
Richard Brouillard - Waterloo, WI

Taxpayers can contact the TAP representative for their geographic area by calling 888-912-1227 (a toll-free call) or online at

Taxpayers can also send written correspondence to the TAP at the following address:

Taxpayer Advocacy Panel
TA:TAP, Room 1509
1111 Constitution Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20224

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Taxpayer Advocate Service Media Relations Office
Visit website