Louisiana Red Hot Records Announces “One Note At a Time” Soundtrack Release Scheduled for August, 31, 2018

Share Article

Award-Winning Documentary Focuses on Musicians Who Returned to New Orleans In the Aftermath of Hurricane Katrina to Keep the Music Alive

Louisiana Red Hot Records is pleased to announce the release of the soundtrack from the multi-award-winning documentary “One Note At a Time.” The feature film focuses on musicians who return to New Orleans after the destruction of Hurricane Katrina to keep the music alive and the New Orleans Musicians’ Clinic that keeps them alive.

Some of these world renowned and legendary artists are Grammy winners Dr. John and “the Soul Queen of New Orleans” Irma Thomas, Damion and Charmaine Neville, British jazz drummer Barry Martyn, jazz trumpeter Kermit Ruffins, Al “Carnival Time” Johnson, Walter Payton, Jr., The Cliff Hines Quintet, Ben Jaffe of the Preservation Hall Jazz Band and poet Shelton “Shakespear’ Alexander, to mention a few. The soundtrack score was written by British composer Ray Russell.

“One Note At a Time” was directed by British film maker Renee Edwards, whose father is a Crescent City resident. Filmed over the course of four years it also includes interviews with New Orleans Musicians’ Clinic & Assistance Foundation co-founders Johann Bultman and President and Director Bethany Bultman.

Live recordings from Snug Harbor, filmed during a Health Initiative Benefit for the Musicians’ Clinic on August 7, 2011 include Damion Neville and the Charmaine Neville Band’s version of “Papa Was A Rolling Stone.” Dr. John performing “Roscoe’s Song,” an improv tribute to Herman “Roscoe” Ernst, his drummer who had passed away earlier that year and “Down the Road.” Poet Shelton “Shakespear” Alexander’s “Second Lining,” was written expressly for the film. “This Little Light of Mine,” the finale for that show, features Dr. John, Gaynielle Neville, Cyril Neville, Amasi Miller, Shannon Powell, Jesse Boyd, Paul Pattan and Donald Harrison, Jr.

Additional tracks include the Hot 8 Brass Band’s “Let Me Do My Thing,” “Higher” by Felice Guimont, “Slip Away” by Chip Wilson and Jesse Moore, “Ray Nagin” by the To Be Continued Brass Band, Bud Tower’s “Please Don’t Take Me Home,” written for the Musicians’ Clinic benefit, and Ms. Pearl singing “Summertime,” live in the French Quarter. “Down By the Riverside” is sung by Barry Martyn and “Carnival Time” is an early version of Al “Carnival Time” Johnson’s classic hit. Additional tracks include the Cliff Hines Quintet’s “Tehran” and “Blue Monk” by Delfeayo Marsalis and the Uptown Jazz Orchestra. Award-winning British composer Ray Russell’s tracks from the motion picture score include “From The Heart” and the “One Note At a Time” theme song.    

Since its first screening at the New Orleans Film Festival “One Note At a Time” has gone on to win a Gold Award at the 2017 Los Angeles Film Review Independent Film Awards, opened the Santa Barbara Jazz Redux festival in California, screened at Sync Up Cinema as part of New Orleans Jazz Fest and won Best Feature Documentary at the Studio City (California) International Film Festival. United Kingdom accolades include Best Feature Documentary at the Nottingham International Film Festival, screening at the Guild of British Film and Television Editors Festival and winning Best Feature Documentary, Best Score and Film of the Festival at the Oxford International Film Festival.

“One Note At a Time” is being released to coincide with Munro Film’s United Kingdom theatrical release, starting on August 24 in select cities. Some of these cities include Chichester, Manchester and London. The digital film release is slated for September 3, 2018. Plans are under way for a world wide release later this year.

Record pre-sales for “One Note At a Time” begin on August 17 with the release date set for August 31, 2018. UPC number is 608691950323, catalogue number is LRHR 9503.

Headquartered in New Orleans, Louisiana Red Hot Records is the home for the next generation for Louisiana legends. For over twenty years, the label that launched and supported the careers of Hunter Hayes, Trombone Shorty, Dumpstaphunk, New Orleans Suspects and Cyril Neville has specialized in providing the world with a richly varied catalog of more than 200 albums by a brilliant array of Pelican State blues, jazz, rock, R&B, Cajun and zydeco artists. Louisiana Red Hot Records continues to represent the best of the past and future of music made in and inspired by the profound and incomparable Louisiana musical heritage.

For more information on the soundtrack album, please log on to http://www.louisianaredhotrecords.com and for more information on the UK and Ireland film release please visit http://www.onenoteatatime.com.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Marcia Groff
Visit website