L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future international Contest Honorable Mentions Awarded Hit Record Number in 2013

Share Article

The 2013 year has higher quality entries than any previous year.

Writers Of The Future

The quality of the stories being entered has been on the rise in recent years but this year it jumped significantly.

The contest year ended on the 30th of September and the annual survey of the entrants receiving the status of Honorable Mention is higher than ever in the history of the contest. Coordinating judge of the contest and first reader Dave Wolverton stated in a recent interview, "The quality of the stories being entered has been on the rise in recent years but this year it jumped significantly. The number has averaged in the past at around 80 per quarter, or around 300 per year. This year we awarded a total of 492 Honorable Mentions. The quality of the stories submitted just keeps getting better in general. An Honorable Mention means that the story was better than average with no major flaws in structure or had a very original idea."

Other judges of the contest agree. Kevin J. Anderson stated when recently asked, "It is increasingly difficult to choose winners for the quarterly judging. Many years ago there would be three or four stand-out stories in the batch of eight that I must vote for three winners. Now that process is harder."

Thousands of entries each quarter are read and there are five eventual categories. No-placement (no win), Honorable Mention, Semi-Finalist, Finalist and out of the eight finalists, three winners are chosen. The judges have no idea who wrote the story they are reading. Manuscripts do not have the name attached. The stories are selected for the quality of the writing and the originality of the story idea. It is not who you know or what your gender or race is. Those factors are not involved in the process. The best story wins, period.

The no-win category writers are encouraged to enter again and are offered writing tips. The Honorable Mention category receive a certificate and are of course encouraged to enter again. Semi-finalists are given a certificate and a critique of their story by the coordinating judge. Finalist stories, of which there are eight each quarter, are sent to four of the judges and three winners are chosen out of the eight.

"This system proves to be very successful," Wolverton continued. "The contest keeps growing. In fact we had our highest ever entries also this year, which makes me very happy and very proud."

One of the most known and respected vehicles for supporting new and fledgling authors is this world-acclaimed, free-to-enter global contest called L. Ron Hubbard's Writers of the Future, now in its 31th year. Created by international best-selling author L. Ron Hubbard, the merit-based Writers of the Future Contest was initiated to discover and encourage talented beginning writers of science fiction and fantasy. Quarterly winners of the Contest appear in the best-selling annual anthology, receive cash prizes, and attend an all-expenses paid gala awards ceremony and writing workshop.

The Writers of the Future Contest is that break new writers can use to launch the career they’ve dreamed of. In fact, the contest has launched the careers of twelve New York Times bestselling authors.

To learn more, including details on how to enter the contests, visit the website at http://www.writersofthefuture.com.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Joni Labaqui
Visit website