New Officers, Fellows Elected at American College of Tax Counsel October Meeting

Share Article

The American College of Tax Counsel recently elected a new slate of officers and also elected new Fellows into its ranks.

At a meeting held on October 6, 2018, the American College of Tax Counsel elected a new slate of officers to serve the College for the remainder of the current one-year term ending February 28, 2019. This election was necessitated by the resignation of Charles P. Rettig from the office of President of the College, due to his recent Presidential appointment to serve as the 49th Commissioner of the Internal Revenue Service. Former Vice President C. Wells Hall, III of Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP was elected to serve as President of the College. Other officers elected at the October meeting include: Peter Connors of Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe, LLP, Vice President; Caroline Ciraolo of Kostelanetz & Fink, LLP, Secretary-Treasurer; and Robert McKenzie of Saul Ewing Arnstein & Lehr LLP, Immediate Past President.

New Fellows Elected

Also at its October meeting, the College voted to welcome 17 new Fellows to membership in the College. The new Fellows are: Laura Krebs Al-Shathir of Capes, Sokol, Goodman & Sarachan, P.C., St. Louis, MO; Sandra R. Brown-Bodner of Hochman, Salkin, Rettig, Toscher & Perez, P.C., Los Angeles, CA; Professor Patricia A. Cain of Santa Clara University School of Law, Santa Clara, CA; Peter A. Furci of Debevoise & Plimpton LLP, New York, NY; Robert M. Hughes of Bever Dye, LC, Wichita, KS; Thomas J. Kane of the Internal Revenue Service, Washington, DC; Professor Don A. Leatherman of the University of Tennessee School of Law, Knoxville, TN; Mark Loyd of Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP, Louisville, KY; Brian C. McManus of Latham & Watkins, LLP, Boston, MA; Thomas J. Phillips of von Briesen & Roper, s.c., Milwaukee, WI; David L. Rice of David Lee Rice, APLC, Torrance, CA; Valerie H. Sasaki of Samuels Yoelin Kantor LLP, Portland, OR; Julie C. Sassenrath of Winsted PC, Dallas, TX; Joseph B. Schimmel of Cohen, Chase, Hoffman & Schimmel, P.A., Miami, FL; A. Lavar Taylor of the Law Offices of A. Lavar Taylor LLP, Santa Ana, CA; Thomas C. West of the Department of the Treasury, Washington, DC; and Betty J. Williams of the Law Office of Williams & Associates, P.C., Sacramento, CA.

The College also welcomed 14 new Fellows into its ranks earlier this year at its May 11 meeting in Washington, DC. New Fellows elected at the spring meeting include: Lee E. Allison of Ropes and Gray LLP in New York, NY; the Honorable Martha Blood Wentworth, Judge of the Indiana Tax Court in Indianapolis, IN; Professor Cassady V. “Cass” Brewer at Georgia State University College of Law in Atlanta, GA; David E. Colmenero of Meadows, Collier, Reed, Cousins, Crouch & Ungerman, L.L.P. in Dallas, TX; Professor James M. Delaney at University of Wyoming College of Law in Laramie, WY; Kurt L. P. Lawson of Hogan Lovells in Washington, DC; Scott M. Levine of Jones Day in Washington, DC; Chad D. Nardiello of the Nardiello Law Firm, PC in Century City, CA; Charolette F. Noel of Jones Day in Dallas, TX; Cynthia M. Ohlenforst of K&L Gates LLP in Dallas, TX; Professor Kerry A. Ryan at Saint Louis University School of Law in St. Louis, MO; Robert E. Ward of Ward Chisholm, P.C. in Bethesda, MD; Loren Washburn of Smith Washburn LLP in Salt Lake City, UT; and Stephen A. Whitlock, Director of the IRS Office of Professional Responsibility in Washington, DC.

Prospective fellows are nominated by current Fellows of the College and must meet a number of criteria in order to be eligible for election to the College. These criteria include at least 15 years as a licensed U.S. attorney, with the principal part of their career devoted to tax and tax-related matters. The College accepts Fellows who are engaged in full-time legal work as a member of the bench or bar, as well as individuals teaching in law school. The College also accepts nominations of retired and semi-retired professionals who meet other criteria for admissibility.

Fellows of the College must demonstrate a high standard of excellence and ethical performance in the practice of tax law, as evidenced by active involvement in taxation sections or committees in local, state, regional or national bar associations, significant legal writing or teaching in the field, and other means.

The College wishes to extend a warm welcome to its new Fellows.

About the American College of Tax Counsel

The American College of Tax Counsel is a professional association of tax attorneys composed of tax lawyers in private practice along with those teaching tax law in law schools and those working in federal or state revenue agencies. Members of the College, known as Fellows, are elected to membership after receiving a peer nomination and successfully passing an evaluation of their candidacy. The College is governed by a 19-member Board of Regents including the four members of the Executive Committee and one Regent elected from each federal judicial circuit, along with two Regents serving at-large. The College fulfills important functions regarding the nation’s tax system by providing recommendations to Congress and the IRS on improving federal tax laws and administration and by filing “friend of the court” briefs in selected tax cases.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Pamela Lyons

by NextClient Staff Writer
Visit website