The Radiosurgery Society® Recognizes Outstanding Residents for their Contributions to Radiosurgery Research

Share Article

The Radiosurgery Society (RSS) is recognizing eight resident/medical students for their excellent research in the field of stereotactic radiosurgery (SRS) and stereotactic body radiotherapy (SBRT) at the upcoming 2019 RSS Annual Scientific Meeting.

The Radiosurgery Society (RSS), a non-profit medical society dedicated to advancing the science and clinical practice of radiosurgery, is recognizing eight medical residents and students for their outstanding contributions to research in the fields of stereotactic radiosurgery (SRS) and stereotactic body radiotherapy (SBRT). The awards will be presented at the 2019 SRS/SBRT Scientific Meeting taking place March 21-23, 2019, in San Diego, CA.

The awards were designed to promote research in the field of SRS/SBRT and provide young investigators the opportunity to present their research and interact with other radiosurgery professionals at the 2019 RSS Annual Scientific Meeting. The winning abstracts were selected from over 100 submitted abstracts on SRS/SBRT based on scientific merit.

“I am pleased to see resident abstract submissions from institutions across the continent, on a variety of clinical and technical topics,” said Susan C. Pannullo, MD, FAANS, Director of Neurosurgical Radiosurgery at NewYork-Presbyterian/Weill Cornell Medical Center and Associate Professor of Clinical Neurological Surgery at Weill Cornell Medicine. “The winning abstracts represent the best of these endeavors. As a Faculty Advisor to the Resident Committee of the Radiosurgery Society, I am delighted to see the level and quality of engagement in the field of stereotactic radiosurgery and radiotherapy exhibited by our practitioners of the future.”

“This year’s best of physics abstracts represented by a talented group of physics residents embodies some of our most cutting-edge technologies for stereotactic treatment in radiation oncology. They focus on a novel treatment planning and efficient delivery technique for SRS treatment of brain lesions, an innovative approach for efficient quality assurance for SRS and SBRT treatments using an optical imaging based on measurement of Cerenkov radiation, and a clever methodology for assessment of planning margins during volumetric image-guided treatment of head & neck tumors based on localization surrogates of the tumor (spine or skull),” commented Indrin J. Chetty, PhD, FASTRO, FAAPM, Professor and Director: Medical Physics Division, Dept. of Radiation Oncology, Henry Ford Cancer Institute at Henry Ford Health System and Advisor to the RSS Residents Committee. “The research performed by these award-winning physics residents exemplifies high impact scientific innovation, which will undoubtedly be of benefit toward improving image-guided planning, delivery and quality assurance for patients being treated with stereotactic radiation therapy.”

2019 Best Clinical Abstract Award Recipients:

Christian Arias, MD, is from the Centre Hospitalier de L'Université de Montréal. His winning abstract is: Systemic Therapy as a Risk Factor Associated to Complications in SBRT for Spine Metastases.

Audrey Dang, MD, is from UC Los Angeles. Her winning abstract is: Outcomes of Stereotactic Body Radiotherapy Delivered by Gantry-Based Linear Accelerators for Low- and Intermediate-Risk Prostate Adenocarcinoma: A Multi-Institutional Study.

Aditya Patibandla, BS is a Medical Research Intern at the Mayo Clinic. His winning abstract is: Initial Observation of Vestibular Schwannomas: A Modern Institutional Experience.

Shivani Sud, MD, is from University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. Her winning abstract is: Dosimetric Comparison of Protons versus Photons for Treatment of Pituitary Adenoma.

Philip Sutera, BS, is a student at UPMC Hillman Cancer Center. His winning abstract is: Adjuvant Pancreatic SBRT for Close or Positive Margins.

The 2019 SRS Best of Clinical Awards are made possible with an unrestricted grant by BEST Medical (Springfield, Va.,

2019 Best Physics Abstract Award Recipients:

Dr. Everardo Flores-Martinez is from UC San Diego. His winning abstract is: Evaluation of a Novel Streamlined Solution for MLC-based Intracranial SRS.

Justin Hurley, MS, is from the University of Louisville Brown Cancer Center. His winning abstract is: Determination of Treatment Margins for Head and Neck Tumors Treated with a Robotic Radiosurgery System Using Spine or Skull Tracking.

Muhammed Ramish Ashraf, BS, is from Dartmouth College. His winning abstract is: SRS Quality Assurance Using Real-Time Optical Imaging.

The 2019 SRS/SBRT Best of Physics Awards are made possible with unrestricted grants from Standard Imaging (Middleton, WI, and Visicoil (Bartlett, TN.

For more information or to register for the 2019 SRS/SBRT Scientific Meeting, go to Members of the RSS will receive a discount on registration.

About the Radiosurgery Society®

The Radiosurgery Society (RSS) – a non-profit, independent, multi-disciplinary organization of surgeons, radiation oncologists, physicists, and allied professionals, who are dedicated to advancing the science and clinical practice of radiosurgery. Originally formed in 2002 and becoming (501c6) in 2008, the Radiosurgery Society today ( represents approximately 600 members who perform stereotactic body radiotherapy and radiosurgery in hospitals and freestanding centers throughout the world.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Kristine Gagliardi
Follow >
the Radiosurgery Society
since: 10/2011
Like >
Visit website