The Top 50 Healthcare Technology CEOs of 2020

Share Article

The Healthcare Technology Report evaluated hundreds of CEOs who were nominated across the fields of medical devices, biotech, healthcare analytics, healthcare software and other related areas.

The Healthcare Technology Report is pleased to announce The Top 50 Healthcare Technology CEOs of 2020. Now more than ever, with our global community impacted by a severe pandemic, the importance of the healthcare technology field is at the forefront. An extensive process was run to evaluate the hundreds of CEOs who were nominated this year. These CEOs lead exemplary organizations in the fields of medical devices, biotech, healthcare analytics, healthcare software and other related areas. We gathered data on each nominee’s professional background and assessed them across several key areas including breadth of leadership experience in the healthcare technology industry, level of expertise and domain knowledge in their particular field, depth of their executive team’s experience, and consistency of organizational performance.

Topping this year’s list are Marc Casper, President and CEO of Thermo Fisher Scientific, Tom Polen, CEO of BD, and Brian Tyler, CEO of McKesson. Marc Casper’s ascent to the top post of Thermo Fisher was rapid. After the company’s transformational merger in 2006, Marc was named President, Analytical Technologies, shortly thereafter in 2008, he was named COO, and by 2009 was appointed President and CEO. He has continued aggressively growing the organization executing on a series of notable acquisitions. Marc is responsible for over $25 billion in revenues and 75,000 employees.

Notably, a select number of CEOs have excelled in leveraging their breadth of experience towards effectively scaling their organizations. They include Bob Segert of athenahealth, Omar Ishrak of Medtronic, Rusty Frantz of NextGen Healthcare, Caren Mason of STAAR Surgical, Timothy Wright of MiMedx Group, Matthew Hawkins of Waystar, Zane Burke of Livongo, Peter Kirk of Sermo, Bill Moss of Seven Bridges, Susan Wood of VIDA, Paul Dabrowski of Synthego, Eric Ostertag of Poseida Therapeutics, Florian Otto of Cedar Health, Mohamed Shoura of PaxeraHealth, Darren Schulte of Apixio, Jeff Fritz of Revel Health, Laurence Girard of Fruit Street Health, Mike Raab of Ardelyx, Shawn O’Connor of Simulation Plus, Dedi Gilad of Tyto Care, Sean Saint of Companion Medical, Laura Schaevitz of Vium, Shawn Iadonato of Kineta, Bill Nordmark of Aver, Shane Bishop of Catalyst Healthcare, Rob MacNaughton of NurseGrid, and Basil Lenzo of INX Software.

This year’s list is comprised of exceptional leaders, strategists, visionaries, and managers, of large conglomerates, fast growing startups and expertly-run operations. Each CEO who made this year’s list demonstrated unique skill in leading their company through both good and challenging times. Congratulations to each of the Top 50 Healthcare Technology CEOs of 2020. The full list of awardees can be viewed at

About The Healthcare Technology Report
The Healthcare Technology Report provides market research and insights, business news, investment activity updates and important corporate developments related to the healthcare technology sector. Based in New York City, the firm is run by a seasoned team of editors, writers and media professionals highly knowledgeable on healthcare technology and the various companies, executives and investors that make up the sector.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Jerald Hapitan
Visit website