Themed Entertainment Association announces 27th annual slate of TEA Thea Awards recipients, representing excellence in the visitor attractions industry

Share Article

Global slate of honorees spans Disney, Universal, Fantawild, Lionsgate, Blackpool, Parc Asterix, PortAventura, National Geographic, TAIT and more

Thea Awards logo

The prestigious TEA Thea Award is considered one of the attractions industry's greatest honors.

The Themed Entertainment Association (TEA) officially announced the new slate of TEA Thea Awards recipients at a press conference on Thursday, Nov 19, 2020 during the annual TEA Member Meeting (held online). TEA International Board President, Chuck Fawcett of Animax Designs, shared the announcement.


The Thea Award recipients announced in November 2020 will be celebrated with a series of Thea Awards Digital Case Studies rolling out from July - December 2021. The recipients will also be documented in TEA's official Thea Awards Program with full descriptions, photos and comprehensive project credits.

The Thea Awards were founded by the Themed Entertainment Association in 1994. From hundreds of nominations received each year, the TEA Thea Awards Committee deliberates at length to produce the annual slate of recipients, which is submitted to the TEA International Board of Directors for approval. Chair of the 27th annual TEA Thea Awards Committee is David Cobb.

The prestigious TEA Thea Award is considered one of the attractions industry's greatest honors.


The Buzz Price Thea Award – Recognizing a Lifetime of Distinguished Achievements            

  •     Bob Weis, President Walt Disney Imagineering

Thea Classic

  •     Blackpool Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, United Kingdom

Thea Awards for Outstanding Achievement (AOA) - recipient name, location (AOA category)

  •     Entrance Experience, St. Louis Aquarium at Union Station, St.Louis Missouri, USA (Entrance Experience Limited Budget)
  •     Sesame Street: Street Mission, PortAventura World, Tarragona, Spain (Attraction)
  •     Qu Yuan, Jingzhou Oriental Heritage Park, Hubei China (Live Show Spectacular)
  •     The Twilight Saga: Midnight Ride, Lionsgate Entertainment World, Zhuhai, China (Attraction)
  •     Snorri Touren, Europa-Park, Rust, Germany (Attraction Limited Budget)
  •     ARGUS LED Dome System, China (Technical Innovation)
  •     Amazing Pollinators (Touring Exhibition, Limited Budget)
  •     The Bourne Stuntacular, Universal Studios Florida, Orlando, Florida, USA (Live Attraction Spectacular)
  •     The Nest, Los Angeles, CA, USA (Connected/Immersive Storytelling)
  •     Mickey and Minnie’s Runaway Railway, Disney’s Hollywood Studios, Orlando, Florida, USA (Attraction)
  •     D.R.E.A.M. Centre, Chailey Heritage Foundation, Lewes, United Kingdom (Immersive Design for Special Needs Guests)
  •     “Becoming Jane: The Evolution of Dr. Jane Goodall,” National Geographic Museum, Washington DC, USA (Museum Exhibit Design, Limited Budget)
  •     Les Quais de Lutèce Hotel, Parc Astérix, France (Themed Hotel)
  •     Tait Navigator Automation and Show Control Platform, USA (Technological Innovation of Industry Significance)
  •     Jewel Changi Airport, Singapore (Airport Destination Experience)
  •     Star Wars: Rise of the Resistance, Disney’s Hollywood Studios, Florida and Disneyland Park, CA, USA (Attraction)

TEA Peter Chernack Distinguished Service Award (recognizing exceptional volunteer service to the Association)

  •     Dale Sprague – Canyon Creative

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Judith Rubin
Follow >
Themed Entertainment Association
Like >
Visit website