Why it is Important to Have Uninsured Motorist Insurance in Florida

Share Article

Florida injury lawyer Edward D. Carlson, of Carlson, Meissner, Hart & Hayslett, P.A. weighs in on Florida’s uninsured motorist insurance coverage

Edward D. Carlson

If you are involved in a car accident and sustain serious injuries, the $10,000 from your no-fault PIP insurance will not be enough to cover your medical bills, cost of medical treatment, and loss of income.

Even though 49 states require car insurance, nearly one in eight motorists are taking to the roads without it, according to a report by the Insurance Research Council. Florida tops the list with the highest percentage of uninsured motorists in a state -- 26.7%. Uninsured motorist insurance protects drivers who are involved in an accident with another driver who does not have automobile insurance.

“If you are involved in a car accident and the negligent driver does not have automobile insurance, you may be paying for your expenses out of your own pocket,” said personal injury attorney Edward D. Carlson, co-founder of Carlson, Meissner, Hart & Hayslett, P.A. “Uninsured motorist coverage pays for any injuries that are sustained in a car accident when the at-fault driver is uninsured. Uninsured motorist insurance is so important to have, particularly in Florida, due to the high number of motorists driving without insurance.”

Uninsured motorist coverage is insurance that can be purchased on the driver’s own automobile insurance policy. Uninsured motorist coverage protects the policyholder, their relatives who reside with them, and passengers who occupy the vehicle at the time of the accident. Uninsured motorist insurance provides coverage for medical bills, lost wages, disability, long term nursing care, pain and suffering, and replacement services for things that the injured is no longer able to do. Drivers can select a limit for uninsured motorist coverage, but may not choose an uninsured motorist limit higher than the bodily injury liability limit that was selected. Uninsured motorist coverage does not pay for damage to the vehicle.

“Florida requires that motorists registering a vehicle in the state have a minimum of $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability,” said attorney Carlson. “But if you are involved in a car accident and sustain serious injuries, the $10,000 from your no-fault PIP insurance will not be enough to cover your medical bills, cost of medical treatment, and loss of income. If the other driver does not have insurance, then you would be protected by your own uninsured motorist coverage.”

To learn more about uninsured motorist insurance coverage in the state of Florida, and what to do if you have been involved in a car accident, contact the attorneys at Carlson, Meissner, Hart & Hayslett P.A. Located in Clearwater, Florida, the law office of Carlson, Meissner, Hart & Hayslett P.A. has been serving the Tampa Bay area community for over 46 years. Innovative practice and proven litigation skills make the firm Tampa Bay’s premier legal team, with a proven track record of success and a reputation for excellence. For more information about Carlson, Meissner, Hart & Hayslett P.A., visit the firm website at CarlsonMeissner.com or contact the office directly at 877-728-9653.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Mary Ann Bounacos
@CMLawfirm
Follow >
Carlson, Meissner Hart & Hayslett, P.A.
Like >
Visit website